Lessons from Geese

While gazing out of a window together my daughter *CAL and I observed geese flying in formation. It was no ordinary experience for us, let me explain why. The sun was starting to set, there was a clear deep orange glow being sent high above such a moody clouded grey sky. The tops of the wings of these geese were reflecting out silver folds as they flew. We watched them for quite some time and just as one formation faded into the distance another came into view. They were silhouetted against the fading light as they disappeared over the pine trees beyond our sight but we could still see the flashes of the sun beaming from each flap of a wing.

It was so beautiful to watch, I would have loved to paint this amazing scene but the window we were both staring out of was in McDonald’s. It would have been lovely to have a camera that would have captured this gorgeous image. I chose to store this wonder in my mind for the next time I’m mood painting to music. Awesome inspiration!

It made me ponder on the artistry of our creator God such beauty surrounding us. We were in a noisy fast food restaurant grabbing a quick meal. It was my little girl who pointed out this spectacular flying poetry, I was too busy messing on my mobile and stuffing my face. How and why do I fall into the trap of not seeing outside of my own existence?

Lessons from geese, lessons from God, they are everywhere when I stop, look and listen with my heart. “Through the eyes of a child,” is always good advice.

Philippians 2:1-4 (NIV1984)

Imitating Christ’s Humility

If you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any fellowship with the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and purpose. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.

*******************************************************************

LESSONS FROM GEESE

(by Milton Olson, adapted by Angeles Arrien)

FACT 1

As each goose flaps its wings it creates an “uplift” for the birds that follow. By flying in a “V” formation, the whole flock adds 71% greater flying range than if each bird flew alone.

LESSON

People who share a common direction and sense of community can get where they are going quicker and easier because they are travelling on the thrust of one another.

FACT 2

When a goose falls out of formation, it suddenly feels the drag and resistance of flying alone. It quickly moves back into formation to take advantage of the lifting power of the bird immediately in front of it.

LESSON

If we have as much sense as a goose we stay in formation with those headed where we want to go. We are willing to accept their help and give our help to others.

FACT 3

When the lead goose tires, it rotates back into the formation and another goose flies to the point position.

LESSON

It pays to take turns doing the hard tasks and sharing leadership. As with geese, people are interdependent on each other’s skills, capabilities and unique arrangements of gifts, talents or resources.

FACT 4

The geese flying in formation honk to encourage those up front to keep up their speed.

LESSON

We need to make sure our honking is encouraging. In groups where there is encouragement, the production is much greater. The power of encouragement (to stand by one’s heart or core values and encourage the heart and core of others) is the quality of honking we seek.

FACT 5

When a goose gets sick, wounded or shot down, two geese drop out of formation and follow it down to help and protect it. They stay with it until it dies or is able to fly again. Then, they launch out with another formation or catch up with the flock.

LESSON

If we have as much sense as geese, we will stand by each other in difficult times as well as when we are strong.

*********************************************************

11 thoughts on “Lessons from Geese

  1. Flock ~~~~~ Ephesians 4 v 2 – 3 and Ecclesiastes 4 v 9 – 12.
    It amazes me how easily God communicates with you through Animals I wonder how closely related you are to St Francis. I love you my sister-dolittle.
    xxxx πŸ™‚ xxxx

    • Hello my lovely little sis, Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 was the first scripture I thought of but when I read it I couldn’t get my brain to seperate it from the the rest of Ecc 4. I don’t know why I just kept going over it and not being able to take it out. But as you thought it too I perhaps should add it here.
      I love you all the world and a bag of sugar. xxxx {{{{HUG}}}} X

      Ecclesiastes 4:9-12
      New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)

      9 Two are better than one,
      because they have a good return for their work:
      10 If one falls down,
      his friend can help him up.
      But pity the man who falls
      and has no one to help him up!
      11 Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.
      But how can one keep warm alone?
      12 Though one may be overpowered,
      two can defend themselves.
      A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

  2. I got a little tear eyed when you mentioned that two drop back when one is injured. Thanks for the education, I loved it. Also, I too have an image that I will always hold on to, it’s of the sunrise I once saw from an airplane when I was in college. It’s not just the image I will remember but the feeling I had from seeing it.

  3. Bloody Brilliant. Love you xxxx God speaks through animals and simplicity. Royal Mail should use this instead of “There is no I in Team, packs more of a punch

Leave a Reply

