Growing in the silence

This poem was written from memories of my past after reading my Bible this morning. It’s a look back on where I was and how God has always been there to bring me through. For some reason I was able to tap into these memories so I went with it.

Growing in the silence

by Alienhippy

Like a grave my heart left cold, dead, yet reaching

You are gone and only memories pierce me now

Walked out one spring morning, no goodbyes

No words but the silence said it all

~

The laughing stopped, the walls caved in

Squashed into nothing, a creature that was not me

Tip toeing over cracks and smiling through thunder

No words but the silence said it all

~

Crushed I may have seemed by changing

Broken hearted left alone is what you saw

Weakened in my being but not in spirit

No words but the silence said it all

~

Solitude with less pain my spirit freed

Given time to grow and just be me

Strengthened, nurtured, loved and accepted

No words, in His silence I hear Him call

*********************************************

Psalm 73:21-26 (AMP)

For my heart was grieved, embittered, and in a state of ferment, and I was pricked in my heart [as with the sharp fang of an adder]. So foolish, stupid, and brutish was I, and ignorant; I was like a beast before You. Nevertheless I am continually with You; You do hold my right hand. You will guide me with Your counsel, and afterward receive me to honour and glory. Whom have I in heaven but You? And I have no delight or desire on earth besides You. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the Rock and firm Strength of my heart and my Portion forever.

Lamentations 3:19-27 (GNT)

The thought of my pain, my homelessness, is bitter poison.

I think of it constantly, and my spirit is depressed.

Yet hope returns when I remember this one thing:

The LORD’s unfailing love and mercy still continue,

Fresh as the morning, as sure as the sunrise.

The LORD is all I have, and so in him I put my hope.

The LORD is good to everyone who trusts in him,

So it is best for us to wait in patience—to wait for him to save us—

And it is best to learn this patience in our youth.

5 thoughts on “Growing in the silence

  1. Pingback: In the silence. 12/5/11 | Musings of the Holy Burrito

Leave a Reply

