Can you catch a rainbow?

Standing in the carpark outside Toys R Us after buying a Birthday gift.

*CAL (my 11 year old daughter who has Aspergers) says these exact words.

“It’s crazy how people never look at the sky or stop to see a rainbow. They are too focused on human civilisation to see the beauty created around them.”

She is so very wise for her age.

We stood as a family and watched the rainbow grow to a full arch across the sky. We watched it get brighter and duller and eventually disappear. We stood outside the store for about 15 minutes all of us being still and looking up. Not one family that came out of the store even noticed it was there as they rushed around with trolley loads of shopping.

Sometimes I am so glad not to be part of the mass, it’s nice to be different. I love being one of the sky watchers, cloud collectors and butterfly chasers. Life can really make your heart smile when we open our eyes, open our hearts and see the beauty around us, within us and within those we love.

9 thoughts on “Can you catch a rainbow?

  1. Oh, a post that gave me much needed smiles!! So delightful to read. I am glad you are not part of the masses either, I would have no one to watch rainbows with or catch butterflies! You and CAL just made my heart sing!

    Love you bunches!!

  2. If you stop to look at rainbows, smell roses, or watch a bug crossing the sidewalk, you’ll get run over by the marching of civilization. Don’t know what you call them in England, but we call people like us “speed bumps” on the road of life. I’m happy being a speed bump. πŸ™‚

    Love and hugs from across the pond.

  3. I flap and smile when I see a rainbow and get super excited. I take photos if I have my camera, and wonder about the pot of gold and magic, and if I’ll ever see the end of one, and call my kids to look. Double rainbows are the best. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ We get them over the water here sometimes, and they are gorgeous. I love CAL’s heart and soul……just like her mama’s. Hugssssssssssssss

  4. Your family is cool! πŸ™‚

    Life’s majesty is right there, all the time, yet we so often don’t see it because we expect it to be complicated or somewhere else. Your daughter and this post is a reminder to slow down today and see the beauty right in front of me.

  5. Great post! And we usually “catch” the rainbows. In fact, we look for them. πŸ™‚ Love Cal’s statement, too. Thanks for including that.

Leave a Reply

