Pray with Simplicity

Here’s what I want you to do: Find a quiet, secluded place so you won’t be tempted to role-play before God. Just be there as simply and honestly as you can manage. The focus will shift from you to God, and you will begin to sense his grace.

The world is full of so-called prayer warriors who are prayer-ignorant. They’re full of formulas and programs and advice, peddling techniques for getting what you want from God. Don’t fall for that nonsense. This is your Father you are dealing with, and he knows better than you what you need.

With a God like this loving you, you can pray very simply. Like this:

Our Father in heaven,

Reveal who you are.

Set the world right;

Do what’s bestβ€” as above, so below.

Keep us alive with three square meals.

Keep us forgiven with you and forgiving others.

Keep us safe from ourselves and the Devil.

You’re in charge!

You can do anything you want!

You’re ablaze in beauty!

Yes. Yes. Yes.

~Matthew 6:6-13 (MSG)

These photographs were taken yesterday using my BlackBerry mobile while walking in the woods with my daughter. Love and hugs. Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “Pray with Simplicity

    • Richard, you inspired the post my lovely friend. You used Matthew 6:6 on your secret place post, the one with my photo on it. I loved your post that much I wanted one of my own. So my Aspie brain went a searching.
      Love you loads my friend. xxx πŸ™‚

  1. Oh, I love this, Lisa!!! The place is beautiful, too! Even though I do a lot of praying, I will never call myself a “prayer warrior.” I’m still pretty “prayer-ignorant,” myself. I’m learning every day how to do this. I need to find a place like your pictures.~~Jeff

    • Hello lovely Jeff, I have many special places where I can be still they are mostly with the trees or beside water. My other favourite place is my prayer chair in my conservatory. It is also my time out chair where I take myself when I am about to meltdown or I have already shutdown. God meets me there in my chair and brings me back out. Be good to yourself and find a special place, you will love it.
      Love and hugs my friend. xx πŸ™‚

  2. Love this. I find it easier to Pray when surrounded by nature. I Pray at any time now. I always feel that Praying at bedtime is not so passionate because I am so tired and drop off, wake up Praying. It is seizing the moment at whatever time you feel is right. Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

