Sonic the hedgehog, my daughter inspires me.

Image from Google

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

My little *CAL came out of school yesterday all excited and so needing to talk. This is so different to a usual day where she is extremely quiet until after her downtime and snack time. She was positively glowing and so very bouncy.

Those who are regular readers to my blog know I believe that God speaks through all things, all people and all experiences. We just need to seek Him, listen for Him and ask Him to come in and show us.

I understand now why Jesus told us to be like little children and I think that children on the spectrum are wonderful examples of raw, open, loving, honesty. They don’t learn to hide things as quickly as most.

I’ll tell you what happened and how it inspired me.

Over the weekend the school year six (11 year olds) went away on an adventure holiday doing loads of fun stuff that would have been great for *CAL but there is no way she would have coped in a large group without one to one help. Academically *CAL is very bright, a high achiever, we have no worries with that at all. It’s the everyday stuff she finds hard to do.

In year six English Literature yesterday

The learning objective for this lesson was letter writing, more specifically thank you letters to all the wonderful staff at the Adventure holiday. The children who didn’t go were asked to also write thank you letters to anyone they wanted. Most of the children that didn’t go chose to write to their Nan’s, my little *CAL chose to write to Sonic the Hedgehog.

She told me she needed to thank Sonic for helping to rescue her baby Chao and then helping him to learn to play the drums. Isn’t that just the most beautiful thing ever! My girl didn’t see that her Nanny isn’t here anymore. She didn’t look and compare to those around and see what she hadn’t or couldn’t do. She looked to what was positive inside her and what gave her joy and she focused and gave thanks for that.

I am so grateful that she was allowed to do this in her English lesson, it made her day.

It also inspired me and gave me hope in the education system.

For *CAL Sonic is one of her heroes,

Writing a thank you letter is just a way of her connecting with her hero. She writes a lot of stories at home and draws a lot of pictures. For some reason she connects with the characters of the DVD’s, games and books she has about Sonic. I have noticed a lot of kids on the Spectrum do.

So this is how it inspired me, who are my heroes?

My heroes are those examples in the Bible that teach me how to look to Jesus and walk in the grace of God. I can learn from these people, my friends of the yesterdays both good and bad because they teach me how to be and how not to be.

How cool will it be, and how therapeutic for me to write a thank you letter to each one I learn about?

Matthew 18:3-4 (MSG)

For an answer Jesus called over a child, whom he stood in the middle of the room, and said, “I’m telling you, once and for all, that unless you return to square one and start over like children, you’re not even going to get a look at the kingdom, let alone get in. Whoever becomes simple and elemental again, like this child, will rank high in God’s kingdom. What’s more, when you receive the childlike on my account, it’s the same as receiving me.

 

14 thoughts on “Sonic the hedgehog, my daughter inspires me.

  1. Lees,

    CAL is such a great inspiration. I love how she is just herself and a wonderful joy. Her heart is so sweet, like her mum!

    You both are great inspirations!!
    Love you!!

    • So here is the rest of what I was thinking…

      Writing out thank notes sounds like a great idea. Isaiah has popped up several times for me. I think I will thank him for running around naked for three years letting me know that indeed God may have told me to do that. KIDDING! Some of my Bible heroes are Isaiah and Daniel. I relate very much to Elijah’s melancholiness…I am prone to live in a cave. Oh! And David of course because I seem to mess up just as well as him. Hee hee

      OK, Ok I am not good at thank you card stuff so maybe I will go write a poem in the nude. HA! What is wrong with me today??

      Love you!!
      Angel

  2. It would also be good…I think…to write thank you notes to those old friends and teachers that were heros who helped shape our lives in a positive way. 😉

  3. What a great idea. Write a thank you note to the characters in the Bible who inspire us. You’re so good Lisa!

    I’ve emerged from 2 1/2 days of hibernation. Feeling just a bit better, but I know God’s doing something. Thank you for your prayers and love. I can always count on you.

    Your friend from across the Pond. Love and hugs to you my very special Bloggy Friend.

  4. What a joy to read! I appreciate your positive outlook. Writing a letter to those who insire or touch us is a meaningful way to celebrate the joy of life!

    Good for you, Girl!
    🙂
    Lori

  5. Little Cal – what a sweetheart! It is so healing to give thanks. We try to talk about things we’re grateful for before bed so our Little Yoda goes to bed with a sense of peace. Of course, we frequently forget, but the effect is so positive when we remember!

  6. Kudos to Cal and to you!!! I love the lessons and how you turn everything into a lesson about God. I do believe that we have lessons to learn on this earth. I am glad that I found you to help teach me to pay attention to the little things.

Leave a Reply

