Internal transformation

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

I wasn’t going to post today but then I read Joyce Meyers status and I got loads of inspiration and just had to follow through with it. I do enjoy what Joyce shares I find her very inspiring and very down to earth. She seems to share just what I need and just when I need it. God is so good!

Joyce wrote this today on Facebook

God has not called us to external imitation, but to internal transformation (Romans 12:2)

I just loved how “imitation” and “transformation” rhyme.

So me being me I had to go and read more. I love reading my Bible so it’s not hard to get inspired when reading the word of God. Listening to the words of those who walked this path before. I see them as my friends. They are all very real in who they are, I love reading about their lives of faith.

Here is the link to what I read today

Romans 12 NIV

I really like the Message translation of verses 1-2, it really spoke to me today and made me ponder on so much of my life. I thought I’d share those verses after my poem, in case anyone else would like to reflect on them.

Here is the poem that I heard while Listening through the Loops.

Image found on Google

Internal transformation

by Alienhippy

Be still my child and know I’m here I never leave your side

You are a chosen instrument now banish earthly pride

I am your God, your Father too, I’m not a distant source

Just listen humbly for my voice, and I will set your course

~

Don’t settle for just fitting in a world that lives with sin

I know your heart is for me and I see the pain you’re in

It’s not how I created, this darkness cannot win

Love others the way I teach you, embrace my love within

~

My peace I freely give you, if only you’d receive

Stop listening to impurity, it wounds, numbs and deceives

I did not call you Heavenward for external imitation

I sent my Son to die for you, internal transformation

~

But you will only hear my voice when you stop chasing idols

I cannot love you anymore than to die pierced on these nails

So come to me receive my gift, my peace and eternal life

Stop punishing yourself with sin this world’s own constant strife

~

Just take my hand my precious one and let us just Be Still

We’ll listen for the voice within and follow in His will

Let go…these shackles bind, surrender, accept, release

Breathing in the still small voice, the perfect voice of peace

************

Romans 12:1-2 (MSG)

Place Your Life Before God

So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary lifeโ€”your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around lifeโ€”and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.

****************************************************************************************************************

Music helps me so much, I’m really into JJ Heller at the moment.

14 thoughts on “Internal transformation

  1. I love the translation of this verse “God has not called us to external imitation, but to internal transformation”! (Romans 12:2)

    It’s exactly what is brewing in me. Several posts I have read recently really got me thinking and pondering about letting myself out. My intimation self hides my silly parts and other things that people have made me feel foolish for, like my number and word passions.

    Your post just confirms that I need to let loose and get all jiggy with my silly-willy self! We really do not need anyone or anything to remind us of things that they feel we do wrong. God focuses on what we do right. It reminds me of what I wrote in my post today about the ballet instructor. He was what I call “picking on”, but it was not actually that. He was pointing out things and saying to do them better because he knew that the students could. He saw their potential.

    God focuses on our potential and gives us positive ways to achieve that potential. If it isn’t hard work or painful at times than it really isn’t going to change us. With any learning process we have to make mistakes and we need someone to remind us of our potential. My toes and legs hurt like mad today, but my body is transforming to the ways of the dance!! I had to watch the dancers that were more advanced, but the instructor continued to point out my own qualities that I added to the moves. We can learn something from many different perspectives to make a whole us watching others, but remembering out own qualities that make us our unique selves.

    Thank you for posting this. It is a wonderful poem and you are encouraging.

    I love you bunches!
    Angel

  2. Pingback: Internal transformation | Listening through the Loops

  3. Lovely Post! Beautiful. I’m copying that image for the side of my blog. I’ve been collecting images there–like the elephant you sent me. I love the image so much. Your words are so lovely, and true. I love the thought of banishing earthly pride. You are such a lovely gift. I also admire how you share your faith. I try to place myself before God throughout the day. I have a strong heart for Jesus. This is one of my favorites that you’ve posted. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Awww… ~Sam~ what a lovely comment, you made me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I collect images too, I keep them in a file and play them as a slide show with relaxing music when I need to get into flow and not let the loops keep nagging at me.
      I also keep certain images and quotes on my mobile so I can get down time away from people and other chaos they create in my head. I find it works for me, 5 minutes up a corner, or in a loo…hehe
      I’m so glad you liked the poem, I like it too…I’m glad I have learnt to do this.
      I do wonder though, if I might have done better at school if I would have known how to do this earlier. Oh well, I’m only 42…hopefully have years left in me yet.
      Love and hugs my friend.
      Lisa. xx ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I love your poem, and I especially love “Here is the poem that I heard while Listening through the Loops.” That’s such a cool way to put it.

    Your advice is easy for me to follow since I can never quite crack the cultural code anyway. Ha! My default is to forget all about culture and “listen through the loops.” It’s the only shot I’ve got ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Wow…quirky, I just LOVE your comment. I love it when another Aspie gets it.
      “Listening through the Loops!” is the name of my other blog where I keep what I hear through my loops. I don’t explain it on that blog. I just let it sit and see what people make of it.

      “My default is to forget all about culture and โ€œlisten through the loops.โ€ Itโ€™s the only shot Iโ€™ve got”

      Yep…that is where I ALWAYS have to go, my loops cause me to shutdown eventually and then reading is IMPOSSIBLE for me. I have no choice but to listen and hear what my inner voice speaks to me. I know God will always be there, I just need to listen for the still quiet voice, past all the noisey loops.
      Love and hugs my friend.
      Lisa. xx ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Wow! Lisa, I loved this post. I’m so far behind and trying to get caught up. The poem is magnificent, and the MSG translation of Romans 12:1-2 is very good.

Leave a Reply

