Giggle…Thanks Quirky and Laughing!

I still have this book 🙂

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

I have just written this comment for a post over at

“Quirky and Laughing.”

Quirky wrote this at the bottom of the post…

I know not all of you out there reading are Aspie, but for those of you that are, please share some of your painfully obvious but overlooked childhood Aspieness in the comments below!

I love posts like this, I love a good giggle, I just had to turn my comment into a post.

Here is the Link to the original post.

My Overlooked but Glaringly Obvious Aspieness

Go and read it, I absolutely loved it!

I’m sure you will too, I’m going back later to read the other comments. 🙂

Here is a little slice of…..

“My Overlooked but Glaringly Obvious Aspieness”

• First of all I love this post, why? It’s in list form with bullet points and it’s short. LOL

• I didn’t do the book thing… reason, dyslexic and they wouldn’t let me read about dragons. Therefore reading was unimportant because all I ever thought about, talked about and wanted was my own dragon. Or multi-headed monster would have been ok too!

• School…one big nightmare, at least I invented my own fake vomit with added parmesan cheese for that lovely smell. This got me out of most days where I was expected to read out loud to a WHOLE class. REALLY… you should have heard them laugh!

• There was a reason for me sitting and swirling ball bearings around on a circular tray, oooo shiny! It was wonderful having a Grandad that worked in the car trade and got them for me by the bag full. I could even line them up in various sizes, and grades of shininess.

• Oh yep, memorising the whole Rubik’s cube solution book and being the fastest in the school gave me the biggest joy of my whole school career. Yes I did stay up all night writing down all the sequences and moves. Also timing each move for each stage. WD-40 is a godsend.

• The only reason for going to the arcade is to play video games! To become the best at video games! Keep your high score and never share your gamer knowledge. The idea of talking to people while there is ridiculous, there are far more important things to do.

• There is nothing wrong with keeping a brown winter coat on with your furry hood up for the whole of summer 1983 because it helps you feel invisible when you have a bad haircut. It also hides that you are going through body changes that are slightly freaking you out.

• AND…One more, it is totally fine to wear rainbow roller disco boots EVERYWHERE. This includes going up and down stairs, going to the toilet, around the supermarket and getting on a bus. If you don’t let me wear them, I’m not leaving the house. I had a need for speed and they made me taller.

7 thoughts on “Giggle…Thanks Quirky and Laughing!

  1. OH my goodness, I’m laughing so hard! A pet dragon? Have you read the new “How To Train Your Dragon” series? Princess Buttercup really wants her own pet dragon as well 🙂 Me, well… I always wanted a chimpanzee so I could teach it sign language and talk to him. Ha! I will be checking out the link to the blog post as soon as I can. It sounds like a great read!

  2. Love this post. You have me thinking about things I did which were not considered within “normal behaviour” You don’t realise until you look back. Love you xxxx

  3. Oh, I love this! Thanks for the shout-out 🙂 And I’m thrilled you posted the cover of that book, because there’s a very special Aspie in my life that would get a kick out of it. I hope I can track down a used copy!

  4. Okay– We would have been great buddies:

    “There was a reason for me sitting and swirling ball bearings around on a circular tray, oooo shiny! It was wonderful having a Grandad that worked in the car trade and got them for me by the bag full. I could even line them up in various sizes, and grades of shininess”

    I love this! I am still a compulsive rock collector, because…shiny! And rock beg to be organized! Thanks for the cute read! 🙂

    Lori

Leave a Reply

