Visual prompts, social confusion and Jesus

Image found on Facebook

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

I’m hoping this will be a quick post with a few of my visual prompts that I keep on my mobile. Not sure yet, I’ll see how it goes, you know how this Dyslexic-Aspie can babble somewhat.

I very often get socially confused

I can act well and not many people notice when I go quiet. I very often will withdraw and go to a quiet place, a toilet or another room, corner where I am able to feel like I can breathe again.

One thing that I have found helpful is to save photos, images, quotes, encouraging emails and poetry on my mobile. It is always with me and I find it perfect for prompting me with positive thought. I have photos of the people in my life that make me feel safe, loved and accepted. I also have other things saved that help me to feel it is good, ok, not wrong to be me. I am not defective, I am just misunderstood.

I read these verses today from John 7-8

John 7:53-8:2 (MSG)

But they cut him off. “Are you also campaigning for the Galilean? Examine the evidence. See if any prophet ever comes from Galilee.” Then they all went home.

Jesus went across to Mount Olives, but he was soon back in the Temple again. Swarms of people came to him. He sat down and taught them.

The first thing that hit me with this scripture

“He sat down and taught them.”

Humility…I learn so much better from those who sit with me. Those who play alongside of me. Those who see me as equal and not someone that needs to be more, be different, need to be changed, improved. I challenge myself enough, acceptance and love is refreshing.

Jesus…the Son of God, sat down to teach.

I can only remember one teacher at school who did this, my art teacher.

The second thing that hit me with this scripture

“But they cut him off.”

These were the religious leaders of the time. They had their own ideas, rules, laws, traditions and didn’t want to hear. They challenged His understanding and questioned His teaching and His faith.

They said…”Examine the evidence. See if any prophet ever comes from Galilee.”

According to the notes in my NIV Study Bible, Jonah was from Galilee.

I think they were wrong.

The third thing that hit me with this scripture

“Jesus went across to Mount Olives”

Jesus retreated to a solitary place where I’m sure He had visuals, visions, words of encouragement, wisdom and hope poured into His being. It’s not wrong to need time alone away from social confusion. Away from the rush and the questions, a place to just be still.

All this happened before Jesus was challenged by the teachers of the law and the Pharisees to answer a question. He was socially put on the spot and trapped by the religious men of His day.

What did He do…?

LINK…..John 8:3-8 (This is what the Bible says)

This is a post I wrote a while ago that helps me

Doodling in the dirt!

Some lines from this post…

I realised that I’m not the only one who needs to doodle and look away to stop the questioning and find my truth.

I realised that I’m not the only one who has to disengage eye contact to hear my inner voice.

I realised that I’m not the only one who can process my thoughts when writing them down.

I see with Aspie eyes and my own tangents bring me peace.

Jesus saw through God’s eyes and His love brings eternal life.

John 8:6-8 (GNT)

They said this to trap Jesus, so that they could accuse him. But he bent over and wrote on the ground with his finger. As they stood there asking him questions, he straightened up and said to them. Whichever one of you has committed no sin may throw the first stone at her. Then he bent over again and wrote on the ground.

Visuals from my mobile that helped me today.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 thoughts on “Visual prompts, social confusion and Jesus

  1. What a mavelous way to stay on track and to boost yourself up. I think I might try somethink like this myself.

    I only recently began to draw and write affirmation for myself that I keep in a little notebook. A mobile device is a much better idea since I am more likely to have it with me when I am out and need some comfort and organization.

    Thank you for sharing! 🙂
    Lori

  2. You are so blessed in your Bible study. I know it comes from the work you put into your relationship with God. And sharing it on your blog blesses others, like me.

  3. A lovely post. It’s funny because I used that scripture a lot at work, whenever the office politics kicked off. Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

