Friends, Autism…so proud of my girl.

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

A few weeks ago my little *CAL wasn’t sleeping too good. She’s 11 now and in her last year at Junior School. She has a diagnoses of ASD likely Aspergers, she is also Dyspraxic.

Eventually she found her words and told me she was getting worried that she would have to do dinner duty. All the year 6 kids take turns at doing jobs *CAL enjoys doing jobs and being helpful but dinner duty was something that seemed to be worrying her.

I was a dinner lady at her school

I KNOW how noisy, busy and overwhelming the dining hall can be at times. If you imagine about 100 very hungry 7-11 year olds in one room, scraping plates and chairs, chattering away and constant movement. The weeks I was on duty in the dining hall I got headaches constantly. πŸ™‚

I spoke to SEN about my concerns

Last week *CAL did a different job. Today is Monday and she said again this morning, with concern in her voice, “Mom what if I get picked for dinner duty?” I reassured her that I had spoken to her teacher and the special educational needs teaching assistant (who *CAL totally loves) and explained that no one would make her do anything she didn’t want to do. But she had to tell them about her concerns. She did!

Imagine my surprise after school today

*CAL comes running out of school straight at me with a beaming smile on her face.

“Guess what Mom? I did dinner duty and I liked it!” she says in total excitement and so very proud of herself.

I was SO SHOCKED…but tried to hide that and got my Aspie-Happy-Flappy Excitement on so she would be herself. Yes I did this even in a play ground full of parents. I said “Brilliant! You are such a good girl, I’m so proud of you….so what did you do?”

I am very proud of her, but at this particular time I was thinking…How on earth did she do dinner duty?

“I did line and *Jay* stayed with me and helped me so I wasn’t on my own!”

Healthy supportive friendship

Is SO very important to everyone! Our kids and all people on the spectrum need that little bit of extra help with this. Finding friends that will accept you as you are is a blessing. *CAL’s class mate who is helping her is a very kind, sensitive, caring and confident child. I’m very pleased that the school is seeing my *CAL’s needs and helping her with friendship and also to do the things she finds difficult.

One of the things I pray for everyday,

That the children I love will find friendships that help them to thrive.

Friendships where they feel valued for who they are.

Friends who appreciate their uniqueness.

Love and hugs.

Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

Β Proverbs 18:24

The Message (MSG)

Friends come and friends go, but a true friend sticks by you like family.

6 thoughts on “Friends, Autism…so proud of my girl.

  1. OH!!! This is SO awesome!! YEA!! CAL!! I am hand flapping too and bouncing in my chair. πŸ™‚ Who cares we are hand flappers and that is who we are. (period)

    I am so happy o hear this great news. Way to go CAL!!

    Love you and hugs to CAL too. πŸ™‚
    Angel

  2. Lisa, you pray that the children you love will find friendships that help them to thrive. Friendships where they feel valued for who they are. Friends who appreciate their uniqueness.

    I pray the same for you and me, and all of us children of God. You have one in me. Love and hugs my friend!

  3. I am so very pleased. Love that CAL was able to do dinner duty with the help and support of a friend. A Leap of Faith. Love you all xxxx

  4. Wow, what a happy post!! πŸ™‚
    β€œ…friendships that help them to thrive.
    Friendships where they feel valued for who they are.
    Friends who appreciate their uniqueness.”
    That’s the kind of friend you have been to me Lisa. Thank you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

