Septic river of religious!

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

This post is more of a healing process than anything else. Please read the following message, I found this while on fb yesterday and it really spoke to my heart.

Spiritual Warrior

A good mentor will affirm in public, and correct in private. Your goal should be to help, not hurt. When you rebuke someone in public you humiliate them, destroying their self-esteem. But when you affirm them in public you build their self-esteem and confidence. Of course, your praise should be genuine, not just empty words. By affirming sincerely and publicly, you plant the seeds of growth and greatness in the learner. God has called each of us to run our race and finish it successfully. God has also called us to keep the torch lit and hand it over to the next runner. Don’t merely be satisfied with doing the job; make sure the job keeps getting done by teaching or coaching someone else.

♥ Love & Light Always! ♥

It’s been over twelve years now

But still the septic river of my own religiousness can cause me to freeze.

Today I was in my local supermarket, a lady my age looked straight at me and smiled, nodded in recognition and walked past me. I knew that I knew her from somewhere but in a supermarket I am totally disorientated (How loving is our Heavenly Father) If I would have recognised her I would have been a complete mess.

It took me a while and prayer

Then a visual replay of how I knew this lovely lady.

I was already putting my groceries on the conveyor belt when it hit me how I knew her. She only had a basket and went through very quickly on a self-serve till, I so desperately wanted to talk to her but couldn’t.

My replay went like this…

I’m standing with a group of 4 women, all above me in leadership and I am being challenged and rebuked because of my failure to submit to their leadership. This is backed up by scripture with a slant. It is happening in a public place and I’m aware of others listening, I just take it and feel a total wretch. I didn’t know at this time how harmful scripture can be when used to make a person into a mould of Christianity that has been invented by mankind.

Now I’ll tell you who the lady was

She was a young single Mom that was placed in my group. I had 10 Moms altogether and at the time they were like an extension of my family. I loved them and I loved their kids too. I was in a religious sect and my whole life was centred on being part of what I thought was the only true church.

I wasn’t the one who had “studied the Bible” with her.

She was moved to my group because I had lived the single mom life and could relate to her. Also she lived close to me and we had gone to the same school. We became friends and we did things together with our kids. Her daughter was the same age as my *AJ and there was a lovely little park close to her house where we’d go and chat while the kids played.

She was a confident young mom, who had been through a lot and had gained a sense of protection for herself, her daughter and her home. I was given a set of studies to follow with her, I knew her situation and felt the study was not kind or loving. I refused to hurt her with this manipulation so my group was taken away from me. I’ll reword that, my friends, my sisters in Christ and all the children I loved spending time with were taken away from me.

Those who have lived this life know how close you become and know the pain of this. There is a kind of shunning that goes on in these types of fellowships when you choose to think for yourself.

After I left the sect

I phoned this lady and apologised for anything I may have done or said that may have hurt her. She told me I had never been anything but a friend and she knew how I had been treated. She thanked me for not doing that study with her and told me she no longer went along to this particular church.

God is LOVE; religion is man putting God in a box.

The truth is in the 4 years I was in this sect I was present in that many studies I can’t remember a lot of the women. I can’t remember the things I may have said. I do remember a lot of times feeling I should have spoken up, but out of respect and submission to my elders and leaders (actually it wasn’t respect or submission it was fear) I didn’t speak up. I do remember going home and crying a lot in prayer for the women whose stories were so painful. Their hurt and loneliness, stories of rejection and abuse were SO VERY painful.

I called this post “Septic river of religious!”

I wrote a post not long ago explaining why I had put certain words on hold for approval. I had many comments go into my spam box. I was accused of many things for choosing to do this. The one thing that hurt me and caused me to fear writing. Fear being part of this community here in Bloggyland was a comment that said I was supressing God’s word by not teaching the truth.

Words are powerful they build up and tear down.

I only share what I have lived or what I am going through. I have never claimed to teach or preach. I’m just a Mom trying to find my way sharing my ups and downs. I love God and enjoy sharing my journey, I love meeting others on a similar journey and finding new friends.

I don’t believe that I supress scripture, I just don’t want to misquote or cause harm/hurt by using it to make others believe in the way I do. God gives free will.

But so I can help myself and feel I can write again

Here is the Bible online for anyone who wants to go and have a read.

BibleGateway.com

I love to write it’s my outlet it’s my best way of communicating. It brings me friendship and conversation; it also helps me to process all the thoughts I have in my Wonderfully Wired Aspie brain. It has taken a long time for me to process this but I believe that being made to fear something that God has given is NOT kind or loving so can’t really be from God.

I read some of Revelation today what really helped me was this verse.

Revelation 22:1

The River of Life

Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, as clear as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb

Having a visual of fresh flowing life to the full.

 

15 thoughts on “Septic river of religious!

  1. Keep sharing. Let others say what they want. Have no fear of what man may think; live to please and serve the Lord Jesus. Remember that He too, was despised, rejected by men. I love what you write, and I love you in the Lord, Lisa. Bloggy blessings to you!!!

  2. Great post, Lisa. I am wondering how I would have handled that situation if it were me! Maybe you will have a chance to catch up with her again. I am SO glad you got out of the sect, even though I’m sure it was painful…and that the lady also left and hopefully found a good true church!

    I am so glad that you write, and share your life with us! You do not come across as preachy at all and never misquote or use scripture for harm,and you use scripture to encourage others & yourself, and help get yourself out of a loop. You are being who God made you to be and we all get to benefit from that!

  3. I have been listening to this today, along with other crazy wild Newsboys songs. Hee hee

    He Reigns!! Every tribe, tongue, and nation singing together we all do it differently and are on our own journey.

    And good for you! Never let anyone stop you from writing you are too much of a blessing to us out her in bloggyland.

    Love you!!
    Angel

  4. What would people say if they knew I used to be a dancer at the gentlemen’s club, or I had been with more men then I could count on both hands or I used to drink and get high with her friends every weekend? Would they say I’m not fit to lead a Ministry? Would they say that all the volunteering and giving of my time is now null and void? Does that part in my life make me a bad person? I say no, people who really know me would say no. However those that don’t really know me would immediately began to judge and whisper behind my back. Instead of being called a “God Fearing Woman”, I would probably be called a “Whore” or “Dope head”. To the people who hide behind others mistakes (to cover their own dirt) nothing I’ve done since then would even matter.

    • Hello Sugel,
      Thank you so much for your wonderful comment.
      I love your open, honesty.
      Who cares what people say or think…it’s God we serve, and He knows our hearts.
      Welcome to my blog friend, so glad you left your comment.
      You helped me SO much.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx 🙂

  5. I love the quote at the beginning. We should never rebuke in public, but we should always affirm in public (nothing wrong with private affirmation, either). And to the author of the comment above mine, you should never be judged on what you were. We were all filthy sinners before Jesus found us. In my past, I might have seen you at one of those clubs, or maybe even “been with” you, or someone like you. But I’m a worship leader now. God changes us and heals us, and there’s not a person on earth who has the right to judge us.

  6. What you write is exactly right, for you and for the readers who care about you. Don’t feel pressured to stop.

    ‘God is LOVE; religion is man putting God in a box.’ – Such a good definition, I have put it in my notebook.

  7. You are an encouragement because what you say is God Inspired, true and from your heart. If you had never been in the sect you would not have gone on the journey that led to you writing and sharing your Faith with others on your Blog. Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

