Jesus calms my storm

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

Today is the day my PC goes in for repair; I still have my netbook so I won’t be disappearing. I will say though that my Autism is pretty ridiculous when it comes to parting with my faithful friend. Any other Aspie relate here. Giggle. 🙂

I KNOW it’s only a computer but anyone who knows ANYTHING about those of us with an ASD, and how we communicate, will totally get where I am coming from with this.

I was reading some email notifications from my mobile this morning and I TOTALLY loved reading this devotional. It helped me so much!

“Be Still and Know” Sharon Jaynes (GIG)

Also this post

“Faith to follow” Where Living Begins

I sat and pondered/prayed on these for a while and remembered a post I wrote back in July. I put it on my “Listening through the Loops” blog because part of me still feels if I let people REALLY know me they will judge me and my way of thinking. My Loops blog is a place where I can be creative and so in a way I’m still hiding who I am. I think most of us who have grown up not knowing we are on the spectrum always feel just that little bit alien. We fear the rejection we have felt all our lives.

I read a quote the other day that stuck in my mind.

“You cannot find peace by avoiding life.”— Virginia Woolf

Many Aspies/Auties know this to be true. I know I certainly do. There are so many things that cause our minds confusion. Environments and people that cause us to shutdown/meltdown feel a failure. But we are not; this world may tell us we are, but we are not. We can find that peace when we find our own ways of coping with the battering of our senses and the attacks on our being. We can’t always understand, and may walk around oblivious sometimes, but we find ways. These ways may look odd to some people, but those who love and accept see past this and see the people we are.

As we all know those wonderful words.

“I am different, not less!” (Temple Grandin Quotes)

So here is a little bit of the me I’m created to be

The me from when I’m “Listening through the Loops”

My special place (taken with my mobile, when I wrote this)

The sound of no sound!

With her thoughts came a rising breeze and an echo of a time past. Her mind was filled with echoes on this day; some of them brought a smile, a warm feeling of love and acceptance. Others, they just caused a loop of despair. On this day those echoes were not being too friendly, they were torturing her peace and she couldn’t stop them.

She froze, as if a moment of clarity had awakened a deeper understanding. Concentration caught her. She listened for the breeze, trying to raise it above the sound of no sound. She could hear this so clearly, but others didn’t seem to know of its existence.

What is the sound of no sound, it’s not silence. We all know silence it can bring us peace when we accept it, give to it our truth within. Silence can also bring loneliness when we don’t tune to who we are, waiting on others to change our perception.

No sound is the buzz that lingers in the mind of those who cannot block it out. It is always there, it’s the one that never stops. It causes every other noise to merge with the voices and makes understanding impossible. The no sound is the distraction that causes mistakes, taking away the revelation given within the peace.

The buzz inside her head was escalating and she knew it was only moments before she had to get away from herself. She had frozen, her thoughts had frozen and nothing seemed real.

She needed to go; she walked the familiar steps to her special place. She heard within herself those words so gentle, words so calming, words that were not her own.

“Be still and know!”

************************************************************

What I read while sat in my special place

Psalm 46

Psalm 23

Psalm 40

Mark 4:35-41

6 thoughts on “Jesus calms my storm

  1. Thank-you so much for this post. I appreciate getting to read your thoughts and insights and the picture you took is so beautiful. I used to have a place like that too. It was a small partly hidden pond/lake a few blocks from where I lived as a teenager.

    Thank-you especially for sharing the devotionals and verses. I needed that encouragement. Thanks and God bless you ((hugs)) 🙂

  2. This is lovely. You helped me a lot more than you know, when you said about changing my mindset to think like Jesus, so if I feel any negative thought trying to get in now I think “how would Jesus think in this situation?” It is the Cognitive Behavioural Therapy anyone could have. Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

