Smears on my windows

Image from Google

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

I cleaned the windows today!

I know it’s SO interesting isn’t it? But before you run off I had a lot of thoughts while cleaning and a lot of clarity to what I have been feeling. So keep reading and I’ll share what I found helpful.

I really love to write

I know that my spelling isn’t great and I’m so grateful that God inspired someone to create spellcheck. Without spellcheck I wouldn’t have the confidence to blog. But even with spellcheck my spelling, punctuation and grammar are not the best. Those of you who have been reading for a while know how I struggle to feel accepted, you know how I fear rejection and also how my Aspergers and dyslexia cause visual loops and an inability to process or even understand at times.

Longing for communication and connection

I feel that everyone longs for connection, to feel loved and accepted for who they are. People on the spectrum are just the same, we may seem to shy away from friendships but that is because we are misread, misunderstood and we see things differently. We can’t always maintain eye contact because we can’t think/understand/process all that information at the same time. Some of us can speak and act really well, so well in fact we look like we fit. However we have this big aching void inside of us because who we really are is trapped and never allowed to be shown.

I am what is called high functioning and I have learned to conform. Only a very few people really know me, my bloggy friends know more about me than the people I see every day. Communication and connection comes easier for me through writing. Only my close family and one friend can cope with me in a meltdown. I have one friend I allow to see me when I am shutdown. I know she understands me, accepts me and loves me for who I am. I feel very blessed to have the family and friends I have.

So back to cleaning windows

My Aspie brain is very good at dictating a post while I’m busy. Cleaning windows is no exception. I’m quite fussy with windows, I wrote a poem about it once.

Here is the link for anyone wanting a giggle.

When I’m cleaning windows

Those who know me personally, know I could NEVER have an iPad or touchscreen mobile because I see every finger print and have to wipe it off. Finger prints and smears really do drive me mad, it seems they become my total focus. I wish I could change it I really do.

I was cleaning my bedroom windows and making sure I had no smears when I realised how focused I was on the glass and not seeing my cat on the fence looking at me. This reminded me of the time when I was in a religious sect and I was so focused on the scriptures, and making people see them as I did, that I didn’t see the people. I didn’t see their hurt, who they were or how they loved. We are all unique and how we love is unique too.

I was speaking with Mr Locoman about this

We talked about a railway group he knows. There are those who go because they have a deep passion for locomotives, and there are those who know a lot about locomotives. Then there are people who want to learn and people who want to share and those who want to feel part of something.

Each person has equal status but sometimes we can be so caught up in the fingerprints we forget to see through the glass.

I’m being abstract but I’m sure someone will understand me.

I cleaned the windows, hubby cleaned the car

I was driving *AJ and *DWKlymax to the gym this evening. It was dark and as I was driving I noticed a smear on my windscreen. For just a few seconds I stopped looking outwards and focused too much on the imperfection. A teenage girl wearing all black walked out into the road. I am so glad I didn’t focus on the smear for too long. I could have ploughed her down.

I know it’s not the same for everyone

For me though, my Bible can be like this. I believe that God’s word needs to be digested by each of His children in the way He gives to them. We are all created differently and we all hear God in the way He choses to reveal Himself to us and in us.

I learned the hard way not to use scripture to put my point across, who am I anyway, I’m just Lisa, we are all just a mist. If God uses me then I feel blessed by that. The scriptures I share on my blog and with friends are those that inspire me or those that have helped me. My opinion or my interpretation of scripture is for me, I share my ups and my downs. I share how God helps me, how He carries me through my dark times and dances with me in my joy.

That’s right, in my understanding

Our Heavenly Father is the bestest Happy-Dancer there is!

In the words of the song that’s looping in my head while I write this post,

“If you could see what I can see when I’m cleaning windows!”

For me I have to read, inwardly digest through prayer and then live life in His unconditional love. Accepting myself with all my imperfections and loving others for who they are. This is far more of a challenge for me than using scripture.

If I focus on Jesus, He will teach me to see through His eyes and He is the true word of God. I’m learning to see through windows in His way, in the time I have here, before the glorious time of being with Him.

Love and hugs friends.

Lisa. xx 🙂

I love this song, I know I have shared it before!

9 thoughts on “Smears on my windows

  1. Wow! Can totally relate! I am so glad you shared about your smeared windows. 🙂

    I’m singing “I got to be me!” I think Bruce triggered that song a while back. It’s always a good one to sing while finding your inner Shirley. 🙂

    Love you and great post!
    Angel

  2. You are blessed to know what works for you; so many people don’t.

    As for your worries about spelling, etc,…I am always surprised at how few mistakes there are, given your dyslexia. I’m being honest when I say you make fewer mistakes than many bloggers I read. Perhaps because you take more care.

    I once read Susan Hampshire’s autobiography. A successful actress in the Seventies, she was severely dyslexic. She was embarrassed by the way she would write over and mark her scripts, until one day another actress told her how intimidated she was by the obvious hard work Susan put into her preparation.

    So long as you do what works for you and doesn’t hurt others, nothing else matters.

    • Thank you wonderful Tilly,
      Now here is a bit of Aspie for you. Your comment about Susan Hampshire sent me on a Google search. I remembered her with Lions and had to find out what film it was.
      Then that reminded me of Daniel in the lions den, so that became a Bible study. Then That lead to another Bible story which helped me to understand a nightmare I had had.
      God works through everything doesn’t he…in my weird and wonderfully wired brain He does.
      Perhaps one day God will teach me how to calm down all my tangent thought…LOL
      Love and hugs my friend. xx 🙂

  3. One of my favorite songs, and probably one of my favorite posts of yours as well. You are a blessing and I hope you will never let anything stand in your way!

    Happy New Year, my friend!!

    • Thank you AM, your comment is just what I needed to read after the time I had.
      Writing this post helped but I must say I’m still dreading opening my spam box.
      Love and hugs. xx 🙂

  4. Really enjoyed and related to this post. You inspired an analogy for me too. If I focus on the smears (negative thoughts) I miss the life God intended me to have (positive thoughts & a positive outlook on life whatever the circumstance). Very inspiring. Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

