Christmas…what are you about? (My Aspie brothers perspective)

Hello my lovely bloggy friends

This post is a letter about Christmas that I received from my brother the year our Mom died. My brother is Autistic and cannot communicate well with spoken words. He stutters a lot and tends to swear to fit in with those who accept him in society. But I know his heart, and that is not who he really is, it’s the mask he wears.

I keep this letter tucked in the cover of my Bible. I don’t know where he found these thoughts, he may have copied them from a book, but he also does tend to write his own thoughts down and then screws them up, throws them away. He has a very low opinion of himself and calls himself all the names that others have spoken on him. But I know my brother and he is amazing. This letter means the world to me, because he took the time to write it when he knew I was hurting.

************************************************************************************

The True and Real meaning of Christmas

The True Heart of Christmas

Sometimes it’s hard to think about Christmas when the world seems to be going mad. War in Iraq and Ivory Coast they call it “unrest” in Sudan, Africa, Burma and Indonesia. We don’t hear too much about it in the news. Everywhere there is war, violence and hate.

It would be tempting

to think of Christmas as an alternative to the mad, mad world. Carol singing, glowing fires and Christmas trees, presents, sweets and classic films on TV all seem like a magical alternative to the harsh realities of the world. At this time of year it becomes very tempting to avoid the horrors of the news as we wrap ourselves up by the fire with a glass of something nice.

It would be tempting too

to see the Christmas story as an alternative to the reality of the world. There’s the crib, the fluffy animals, the gentle shepherds, the Angels and the three wise men to think on after all.

But the Christmas story is NOT an alternative to the harsh realities of the world: it is “ABOUT” the harsh realities of the world and how God chose to place Himself right at the heart of them. Baby Jesus was born to an unmarried mother in the back of a pub. They were visited by social and religious outcasts and it’s unlikely the animals were fluffy. Almost immediately they found themselves to be asylum seekers, fleeing to Egypt to escape Herod’s violence. And the innocent baby was eventually executed as a criminal, His followers leaving Him to die among thieves.

The Christmas story is about reality, blood and guts, of birth, poverty, war, asylum and violence. And as such, it is stillΒ  relevant today as it ever was. That God chose to be among us, live as one of us, live among the poorest and die among criminals, IS THE TRUE HEART OF CHRISTMAS. This is what Christmas is truly about:

“Emmanuel” = God with us.

That God is with us, among the poor, victims of violence, the anxious and the “grieving.” God is with us in our ordinary daily lives as well as our magical moments. God is with us when we find ourselves in trouble as well as when we are joyful. God is with us in the heart of the horrors of the world, as well as in the happy smiles. Loving us and “weeping with us.” This is the REAL Christmas.

May you know God is with you this Christmas – not just in the tinsel wrapped, turkey flavoured festive season, but in the real world and in the realities of your/our real lives.

God is with us because we allowed Him in.

Personal ending from my brother (Can be read on the image)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Christmas…what are you about? (My Aspie brothers perspective)

  1. Lees,

    This is a wonderful letter to share. I think part of my issue with Christmas, well besides getting caught up in the fact that Jesus was not born in December, and that Christmas as we know it now is a mesh of several other holidays, sorry AS. Focus Angel. Um…this post helps remind me to not get caught up in my own issues with the celebrating thing that goes on during this time, and focus on the true spirit of this season. He is with us, and by remembering that we can feel and deal with our emotions never being alone, it is much easier to handle. He knows our pain and our joys better than anyone.

    Being mindful and accepting of others, remembering that we celebrate with Him everyday, and even though there are huge, horrible things going on in our world and around us, we can make a significant difference in our lives and in the lives of those that God has placed in our path. There is nothing insignificant with God.

    Your brother’s letter speaks volumes. πŸ™‚ I am glad you shared!

    Love you!
    Angel

  2. A great message Alienhippy thank you for sharing from your heart, there is much Truth in your words, where is our focus ? is it in caring for others or feel good alternitives, when our focus is on Jesus Christ, one thing stands out above everything else.

    Christian Blessings to you and your Loved ones Alienhippy, may the Beauty of Christmas past and the Joy of Christmas present, fill your heart with Love that overflows all year.

    Christ- mas Love Anne

    • Thank you freedomborn,
      This letter from my brother is very precious to me, our family have gone through quite a lot and he isn’t able to communicate with me at the moment.
      Love and hugs. xx πŸ™‚

  3. Lisa,
    Thank you for the True Meaning of Christmas and please thank your brother too! I hope you and yours have a very Merry Christmas!

    btw I just posted a book review of an e-book Cal might enjoy.

    • Hi Sue,
      My Brother isn’t a big talker and can only speak on a few topics but when he has something to say it is because it is on his heart to say it.
      I’ll have a look at that book once I get over to your blog.
      Love and hugs my friend.
      Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Alienhippy, I hope your Christmas was special and you enjoyed it with your family, Love starts with Community, even God The Son our greatest gift given at Christmas, is a Trinity or part of The Godhead, 3 in one, we need the Body of Christ, we were created to express Love in all it’s forms and we cannot do this alone.

    Today your time is my Birthday, it was yesterday my time but we do meet on the same day in the time line as does every Country in the world this is the same with Christmas day, even if that is at night.

    You Brother was right as many are also , Christmas is at this time of year, the Scriptures show this Truth very clearly if we have eyes to see and God’s wisdom to understand and do not trust in man’s understanding, reasoning and logic and so reject the confirmation of the Scriptures, because if we reject the Scriptuers in one Truth we will reject them in others.

    God bless you greatly Ailenhippy now and in the future.Christian Love Anne.

    • Hi again Alienhippy I’m sorry I meant to confirm something else your Brother said, sorry also when I first read your Brothers Letter I thought part of it was your postscript which I commended you for, I was having reading problems after a fall, I’m still finding it hard to focus at times.

      Your Brother was right they were not fluffy animals in the stable, the sheep were still in the pastures with the Sheppard’s and they are still at this time of year even today, it’s later in the month that they can’t be because of the extreme coldness so they are hand feed which means they no doubt spent some time with baby Jesus but not when He was born as your brother thought. The song away in a manger tells us what animals they were, it was the cattle or oxen, who were used in the Summer months to sow and plough the pastures but were stalled in the winter months, that’s why they were with the Baby Jesus in December, songs can teach us a lot but the Scriptures also confirm this Truth, they also had more then one manger to feed from,

      Christian Love Anne.

  5. Hi again Alienhippy I’m sorry I meant to confirm something else your Brother said, sorry also when I first read your Brothers Letter I thought part of it was your postscript which I commended you for, I was having reading problems after a fall, I’m still finding it hard to focus at times that’s why I’m checking posts again.

    Your Brother was right they were not fluffy animals in the stable, the sheep were still in the pastures with the Sheppard’s and they are still at this time of year even today, it’s later in the month that they can’t be because of the extreme coldness so they are hand feed which means they no doubt spent some time with baby Jesus but not when He was born as your brother thought. The song away in a manger tells us what animals they were, it was the cattle or oxen, who were used in the Summer months to sow and plough the pastures but were stalled in the winter months, that’s why they were with the Baby Jesus in December, songs can teach us a lot but the Scriptures also confirm this Truth, they also had more then one manger to feed from,

    Christian Love Anne.

  6. Your Brother was right Alienhippy they were not fluffy animals in the stable, the sheep were still in the pastures with the Sheppard’s and they are still at this time of year even today, it’s later in the month that they can’t be because of the extreme coldness so they are hand feed which means they no doubt spent some time with baby Jesus but not when He was born as your brother thought. The song away in a manger tells us what animals they were, it was the cattle or oxen, who were used in the Summer months to sow and plough the pastures but were stalled in the winter months, that’s why they were with the Baby Jesus in December, songs can teach us a lot but the Scriptures also confirm this Truth, they also had more then one manger to feed from,

    I meant to also say sorry about misreading your Brothers Letter I thought part of it was your postscript which I commended you for, I was having reading problems after a fall, I’m still finding
    it hard to focus at times.

    Kind regards Anne.

    I’m also having problems posting, so I used my other e-mail address and Pen name, I have contacted WordPress and they are checking into why this is happening on some Blogs.

  7. Hi Alienhippy, I’m posting this again for evidence for WordPress to show them what is happening. I’m doing a Screen shot as they advised there seems to be something wrong with your blog as my comments are disapearing and being a Christian I know you wouldn’t be so hurtful to do it deliberatly although others have but they then say they have God’s Love, strange as what I post is never rude just the Truth as confirmed in the Scriptures!

    I hope your Christmas was special and you enjoyed it with your family, Love starts with ComWunity, even God The Son our greatest gift given at Christmas, is a Trinity or part of The Godhead, 3 in one, we need the Body of Christ, we were created to express Love in all it’s forms and we cannot do this alone.

    Today your time is my Birthday, it was yesterday my time but we do meet on the same day in the time line as does every Country in the world this is the same with Christmas day, even if that is at night.

    You Brother was right as many are also , Christmas is at this time of year, the Scriptures show this Truth very clearly if we have eyes to see and God’s wisdom to understand and not trust in man’s understanding, reasoning and logic and so reject the confirmation of the Scriptures, because if we reject the Scriptuers in one Truth we will reject them in others.

    God bless you greatly Ailenhippy now and in the future.Christian Love Anne.

  8. Well Alienhippy,it seems my posts have now suddenly appeared again, strange, anyway something worth saying is worth repeating, but I would appreciate you letting me know what the problem was as I need to tell WordPress they are following this up with other Blog also and it may help them.

    My e-mail address is ********* I’m taking webshors of all my comments untill it is resolved, sorry for your inconvenience.

    Kind regards Anne ( Annie)

    • Hi there freedomborn,
      Rather than explain here or in email I have written a post to explain to everyone why some comments have been held back for approval. As a Christian I know you will understand the damage that can be done through misinterpretation of scripture and the out of context use of it.
      Also I know you will respect my reasons for wanting my blog to be a safe place for those seeking an understand of our precious Jesus in their personal walk with Him. We are all equals in this and can learn from one another. Sorry you spent so much time worrying about this, hope my new post will help explain.
      Much love to you in Christ.
      Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

  9. What a a Powerful letter, God Inspired. My Family have let Jesus into their lives and it shows through their words and the way they live. Love you all xxxx

Leave a Reply

