A bunch of Matildas in a Wormwood World

Image from Google

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

My little *CAL gave me the idea for the title of this post. She LOVES Roald Dahl and Matilda is her current favourite film to have on repeat. I have lost count, it has been on everyday for about 5 weeks now. Mr Locoman just gave me this information, I have actually learned the art of blocking. I’m very good at it actually. I first learned it at school when the teachers were boring me to death, I couldn’t read remember and most of the time I was completely oblivious. Oh hang on a minute he just shouted from the kitchen, she had a break of 3 days in the middle. You’re getting the picture though…right? 🙂

I REALLY don’t know why she LOVES it so much

But saying that, no one else seems to understand my love for The Time Machine 2002. I just know that when I’m needing to take a break from headmess, my loops and all the jumble of overload I can lose myself in that film. My mind seems to slow down and piece things together better and my body doesn’t feel it needs to react in any way. I have always had a fascination for time travel, I do think it is to do with time being so confusing to me. How when I’m stuck in flow activities and daydreams time and people problems just disappear, or if I’m stuck in a frantic thought loop time seems to last for an eternity.

Anyway I’m going off on a tangent here.

My little *CAL asked me why people say nasty things.

We were walking and chatting, there were other people with their children around and I hadn’t realised that *CAL was listening to a parent saying the most horrible and negative things to their young son. *CAL was quite upset by this and said to me, “Mom, why are most people like the Wormwoods? I sometimes feel like a Matilda in a world of Wormwoods and Miss Trunchballs.”

My little girl is very literal

She is also very quiet, she only really opens up when she feels extremely safe. She is 11 now and she has learned to wear the mask of society quite well. However not well enough to not be noticed occasionally by those who choose to point out her differences, the little quirks she has that show she is on the spectrum. She is starting to know who she can be herself with and who she has to pretend around. It breaks my heart to know that both my kids have to do this. How I have had to imitate my lovely NT Mom, learn to fit in to be accepted by most people, my kids have to do the same.

The mask is only for those who don’t love and accept us though.

In our home we can all be a bunch of Matildas. We might not have the magical gifts that Matilda was able to tap into by using the negativity around her as mental energy to move objects.

But we have the gift of each other, the gift of love and the gift of close family and close friends. We can also use the negative that is around us and turn it upside down to help those who need to know what it is like living with an Autism Spectrum Disorder. If you like… Autism is our Matilda gift.

We also believe, hope and wait….

Because yes….there are plenty of loving, accepting Miss Honeys in this Wormwood world. I’m teaching my kids to look out for them. I prayed for nearly 40 years and there were times I gave up. The Wormwoods got to me, the Trunchbulls squashed me. But there is a difference!

I grew up not knowing I was on the spectrum

I slipped through the cracks and just thought I was odd, weird, wrong and thick…an alien.

Finding out I had Dyslexia was a massive eye opener. But hearing the word Aspergers Syndrome for the first time was the piece of the puzzle I needed to start putting me back together.

My kids know they are wired differently and they are finding who they are as Wonderfully Wired and unique creations.

My dyslexia I choose to see as a gift

It helps me to control the amount of input going into my brain and I believe stops me from overloading as much as most Aspies do.

Without it I would have read CORRECTLY what I was doing and never accidently started a blog.

Without my blog I would never have met all the wonderful Matildas and Miss Honeys that are now my Bloggy friends.

I’m also pretty sure that a lot of those Wormwoods are just wearing masks too, hiding their own insecurities from a bunch of Trunchbulls.

Love and hugs everyone.

Lisa. xx 🙂

13 thoughts on “A bunch of Matildas in a Wormwood World

  1. Sometimes, after reading your blog, I just don’t know what to say. I don’t mean this in a bad or negative way. I enjoy reading your blog very much, and your honesty, the way you view yourself, and your family is truly touching. You make me think about things, look at things through someone else’s eyes, and this is a very good thing. You and your family are always in my prayers. Thank you for sharing your life with us through your blog. 🙂

    • Wayne…just the fact you commented is words enough my friend.
      I know that i can be a little intense sometimes, it’s part of me being an aspie.
      It’s also my way of dealing with the hurt, giving it to God and learning to move forward.
      Thank you for you prayers they are so very welcome here.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx 🙂

  2. May we all find more Miss Honeys as we pray for the Wormwords to grow in their understanding so they can become Miss Honeys too!

    God bless you and your family for you are truly beautiful from the inside out!

  3. My daughters like that movie too. What an interesting way to look at things! What a bright girl you have. I think if the world had such likeminded people, it would be a better place 🙂

  4. LIttle *CAL is wise beyond her years. To know to wear a mask for those outside out her comfort zone is such, well I don’t know. I think I’ve lived 40 years and have yet to figure that one out. And she knows when to wear it and when not to. She is a smart little one indeed. I am humbled by your wise words. I really am.

    • Hello lovely Lizbeth,
      your comment made me blush, I only babble my dear friend.
      Any wise words must be inspired because you know I only read one book.
      If I remember rightly and as I am Aspie I’m pretty good at that.
      YOU…my friend, got me to do a book meme because I intrigued you…LOL
      Love you loads. xx 🙂

  5. CAL has such a lovely perception of people and a beautiful nature. We are all so different in our own way. Speaking from a generation of Class of 1969, some of our teachers were like Miss Trunchbull and we had Teachers that were like Miss Honey, they are the ones I chose to listen to and learnt a lot more from. Our Head Mistress was scary, like Margaret Thatcher. I used to image her with a Hitler moustache and Gun Boots & had to see the funny side because I was afraid of her. Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

