Obsessions

Obsessions

by Alienhippy

Sometimes my obsessions scare me

Although some can bring my mind rest

They consume my thoughts with their tangents

Then the looping is not always best

~

Some obsessions will call and inspire

They bring freedom and show the real me

But others will make my brain tire

Of the nagging and negative I see

~

I fear that when I am focused

I forget all the things that are real

All the people I love and live for

Will not understand how I feel

~

The days all seem like they merge

My obsessions will pull on my time

I’m so focused on what I am doing

No need for food, not hungry, I am fine

~

I realise that this is not good

I need to show me some loving

My ways are often misunderstood

But for me this is just called living

~

I have made myself a timetable

And set an alarm on my phone

It’s good to be so intense sometimes

But it’s better to not feel alone

****************************************************************

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
~1 Corinthians 13:4-7~

12 thoughts on “Obsessions

  1. I am very much uplifted by your honesty Aienhippy’s , with being Dyslectic I have a few of the symptoms you experience but mostly my life runs fairly normal and my thinking too, but as a Christian perhaps different from many others, I’m very Passionate about God, Jesus is my best friend and my thoughts are often focused on Him, we talk a lot but not audibly, in my heart, if I’m worried about anything or sad I talk to Him, if something confuses me or if I’m Happy, the same, I do this with my close friends too but Jesus is my closest.

    Christian Love Anne.

    • Hello Freedomborn,
      Jesus is my best friend too, I don’t think I could have got through life without my relationship with Him.
      Thank you for sharing. Love and hugs friend. xx 🙂

  2. I’m glad to see that you set the phone alarm .that’s a good thing Lisa .You sure know how to change things for your benefit .We all get involved in things where ,time goes flying by so fast without realizing it . you described your obsessions in a way i see what you’re going through .
    Blessings
    Eileen

    • Thank you Eileen,
      I have great ideas, it’s remembering them and sticking to them though…giggle.
      Blogging is so good for helping me with this.
      Love and hugs my friend. xx 🙂

  3. I like your poem… The concentration vs relationships balance is an essential dilemma and you illustrate it beautifully.

    Concentration: meaningful, productive, intense, demands solitude and an abundance of coherent time. Will make you neglect the rest of the world and can starve vital relationships so they break, can ruin love.

    Relationships: essential for living in and liking the world, for love. Demand attention and frequent switch of focus, interrupt and cause loss of concentration.

    – but with understanding from all parties and in the right balance they supplement rather than undermine each other.

Leave a Reply

