I don a mask for every day

Image from Google

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

I have a poem to share today, I wrote it after a reflective prayer time. I find that is when my poetry flows easiest and very quickly. I believe prayer is a gift that God gives to us. A gift of friendship, unconditional love and acceptance from our Heavenly Father.

I don’t always think this way though

And then I end up on my knees anyway because I haven’t processed things properly, I have become overloaded and I shutdown. So I am learning to build a better friendship with Jesus because He is the best friend I could ever have.

I read a wonderful post the other day

It was written by my closest friend Fiona over at Wonderfully Wired. It is a very touching post and it reminded me of an old poem I wrote way back in my first three months of blogging.

A poem called “Internalise”

It also reminded me of words spoken by Paul to the Church in Corinth.

These are Paul’s words

2 Corinthians 3:18 Β (NIV)

And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

As I sat and reflected on my thoughts

I “Listened through the Loops” in my mind and I knew I had a post to write, and then a poem came instead. I will share my poem at the end of this post.

All those STUPID MASKS

In Fi’s post she talks about how she has to wear a mask and pretend. She also share about how her beautiful son *Harley is learning to put on a mask too, because he sees he is different to the other kids at school. *Harley has Aspergers.

He also sees that for most people he needs to pretend and conform to society and it’s unwritten rules. That his beautiful loving nature is a thing that other children tease him for. I know these feelings all too well, seems to me the more you love the more you get hurt.

Fiona also shares of how when *Harley comes home he can take off that stupid mask and be just who he is created to be.

You can read Fiona’s post here, Stupid Masks

Fi’s unconditional love for her children, her passion for bringing awareness to the needs of those on the spectrum, her accepting, loving, open and honest nature makes her blog a must read.

Plus I find my friend so very inspiring. πŸ™‚

Here is my poem

I don a mask for every day

by Alienhippy

I don a mask for every day

Slip out the door my head will pray

I speak the words my heart will hear

Protect me Lord from all this fear

~

As I’m walking through this day

Give me ears for what you say

With faith my hope will always please

You’ll bring these loops down to their knee

~

These masks can go and I can be

Wonderfully Wired created to be me

Seeing through your eyes, born unique

Living in acceptance gratefully I seek

~

Your Son will help me fully live

Not for myself but learning to give

And in my life your love will flow

My feet and heart will gladly go

~

To every corner that’s in darkness

Tell my story share this gladness

You came to me to heal my pain

In your love, I trust love again

~

Just like a child without restrictions

No tortured confines, obsessive addictions

But giving freely and believing in you

To guide my life and get me through

13 thoughts on “I don a mask for every day

  1. Lees! Great poem!

    AND guess what? I wrote a post this afternoon about my alter ego’s I used to help me be accepted! I am editing it still, I think I will have it up tonight. Those were my masks, pretending to be different characters so people would accept me. I am so glad you wrote this and I loved Fi’s post as well. It prompted a post I wrote the other day.

    You both are so inspiring!

    Love you!
    Angel

    • Hello my lovely Angel,
      I knew you’d get this post, we are SO VERY ALIKE…..aren’t we?! πŸ™‚ xxx
      I can’t wait to read your post, you inspire me my lovely friend.
      Oh yep Angel….I have not long emailed you with some good news. πŸ˜‰
      Thank you for your prayers, God is so good!
      Love you so very much.
      Lees. xxx πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: I don a mask for every day | Listening through the Loops

Leave a Reply

