Careful words around ASD kids

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

I’ll try to keep this post short I just had this thought while going through some DVD’s. One of the films in our family collection is “Fire in the sky” This is a film that I really CAN’T watch or even listen too.

ALIENHIPPY, why?

My Mom was a hippy….she was all about the love and Jesus, her personality just rippled and touched everyone . My Dad is Alien…I mean TOTALLY Alien. He is very autistic and always looked to Mom for guidance.

Careful words around ASD kids.

A child with an Autistic Spectrum Disorder may not look like they are listening. They will look like they are engrossed in their own activity. Their fingers maybe hyperactive on the buttons of their 3DS/wii or any other gadget. So were mine on my Rubix Cube and ATARI. It’s when we fixate like this that we absorb, we take in EVERYTHING!!!

My irrational fear.

My Dad’s OBSESSION is UFO’s, aliens, and alien abductions. He talked nonstop about these things in front of all three of us kids. Now we all know that when an Aspie/Autie talks about their special interest they never shut up….I get on my own nerves believe me. I have learnt to write it out most of the time now. My Dad can’t read or write so he never has, he just gets on one, then will get annoyed if we don’t listen to him.

I am EXTREMELY visual

All his stories came to life in my head as a child, and no amount of Mom’s reassurance would stop my imagination. To this day I still cannot sleep with windows open.

“Fire in the sky”

I went to see this film when I was about 8 months pregnant with *AJ. I was with a group of friends that I was not particularly confident or comfortable around. Yes… I had ABSOLUTELY been talked into it. I didn’t want to disappoint anyone so I tried to NOT have this irrational fear.

Knowing the film is based on a “true” account was not at all helpful.

I was 24 and I had learnt to hide my Autistic quirks very well from EVERYONE in my life. In this film there was a scene were the guy is getting experimented on. My heart was racing so fast and my body was wanting to run. I was sat in a cinema in the middle of a row of people and I was very, very heavily pregnant. *AJ was restless because of my body changes through anxiety and total panic. He started doing summersaults. I was feeling so sick and ill from this. I can see now how I looked but I didn’t care, I needed to protect my baby from what my body was making him feel. It was the only time I ever allowed myself to be me in that part of my life. I put my fingers in my ears, I closed my eyes tight, I allowed my legs to bounce and I sang a happy song in my head, while rocking.

This is an irrational fear I know

I just want to let those of you out there who have kids on the spectrum know this.

Be so very careful how people talk around your kids, even when they look like they are not listening they are.

ASD kids can’t process this stuff and it has a hold on them that causes night terrors and other problems when older.

Love and hugs.

Lisa. xx 🙂

This is how I imagine it now,

the image at the top of this post is how I saw it as a child.

9 thoughts on “Careful words around ASD kids

  1. That is a really good reminder hun, often it appears as if Christian is so adsorbed in what he is doing that he couldn’t possibly hear us too. Thank You for being you xxx

    • Yep….my Mom caught on to me pretty quick.
      I remember once hearing her say to my aunite,
      “Shhhh…nelly-elly ears is listening!” giggle. 🙂
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx 🙂

    • Oh Tilly it was HORRIBLE!!!!!
      I felt SO trapped, SO afraid, SO sick and SO fat!!!!!
      I am SO very glad that I can just be me now and stop with all that pretending.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx 🙂

    • Thank you my precious friend for being interested in the way my mind works.
      You are a blessing and a Godsend, I’m so grateful for who you are.
      I love you so very much.
      Lees. xxxx

  2. Love the visual on this post of the alien abduction and the Angel. I know only too well about children listening to adults, when adults think that they are not. I was a child that listened and obsessed on things and it has followed me to my adult life. Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

