Literal thinking! (One of those moments)

Hello my lovely Bloggy friends,

Today we had a home visit from the Communication Autism Team (CAT)

The lady who came to meet with me was very nice.

I’m not going to write too much about it but I thought I’d share this because it made me giggle.

***********************************************************

CAT…”I noticed *CAL is VERY literal and rigid in her thinking, abstract concepts seem very hard for her to grasp.”

Me…”Oh I’m SO glad you’ve noticed that! It doesn’t really come across in her lessons. I have been pointing it out since she was four years old.”

CAT…”I have worked with children on the spectrum for YEARS, but when I met with *CAL she said something I have NEVER heard before.”

Me…”Ok…tell me, we’ve thought of writing a book of them!”

CAT…”I asked *CAL about the food she likes and dislikes. I asked *CAL what her least favourite food was and she said Watermelon!”

The lady from CAT then giggles to herself and tells me she should know better really, it was totally her fault. 😀 Then she tells me what was said.

CAT…”Oh, Watermelon *CAL, you don’t like Watermelon? Watermelon is VERY nice when it is hot!”

(*CAL…Looks at her like she is from another planet and then says.)

“HOT…hot Watermelon! I didn’t realise you could cook it!”

16 thoughts on “Literal thinking! (One of those moments)

  1. priceless…….. This might make you laugh, one time I had Emile in hospital because he had some bad fevers and we told him that he had to drink some medicine and he wouldn’t so I told him that if he didn’t drink it I would sit on him while the nurse gave it to him so that he wouldn’t struggle, then he starts crying and said ” but mummy if you sit on me I won’t be able to breathe….” so cute my poor little man unfortunately being neurotypical I don’t think before I speak !!!!!!

  2. OMG LISA! When I read that I thought she meant cooked watermelon too! LOL. I had to stop and think about why that was funny. 🙂

    • Laura my lovely friend,
      I did the typical Aspie giggle because she giggled.
      Then while giggling I was thinking, “Why am laughing?”
      It took about 10 seconds for it to click and then my laugh was more obviously real.
      I think she sussed me too. She is trained to pick up on these things after all.
      I love you LOADS. xxx 🙂

  3. Sometimes those little misunderstandings lead to great discoveries. 🙂 I learned Dr. Pepper “is good when it’s hot”. Oh I was so embarrassed! But you know what? It really is good when it’s hot (fresh from the microwave). -insert blushing smiley here-

    • Hi Emily, I thought exactly the same.
      She giggled and I’m used to acting so I giggled too and thought about it while giggling.
      42 years of practise, I think it took about 10 seconds for it to click. LOL
      Thanks for popping by and commenting.
      Love and hugs. xx 🙂

Leave a Reply

