“I’m waiting to find out!”

"I'm waiting to find out!"

Hello my lovely bloggy friends,

Collecting thoughts and processing them is something my Aspie brain does constantly. I have SO MANY thoughts throughout my day, so many connections that could be linked but SO MANY of them escape and are forgotten.

About 6 years ago I started to journal my personal thoughts, this I find so helpful.

My blogs have become part of this but I still have other journals too.

I find it best for me to be organised with my thoughts

My Alienhippy blog is for me to share what I have on my heart to share,

“A place where I can be me!” In a world where it is hard to fit.

Listening through the Loops is for my deeper thoughts,

my inspirations, creativity, help, dreams and imagination.

I have a personal journal that helps me,

I also choose to share my deeper thoughts with those I trust 100%

I keep a prayer journal which I find very, very helpful.

Also I keep a reflective thoughts and letter writing journal.

I don’t write in all of these every day.

My personality is one that needs to share and express.

So I go with what feels best on that particular day.

Some days I can’t express through words, this is where art and music are so very important to me.

Other days I can only express to close friends and they are very patient because believe me with all my looping thoughts I can REALLY babble.

We are all created to be unique

Aspergers Syndrome to me is all I know, when I read about cures for Autism I actually feel quite offended and hurt.

I can only speak for me, I can’t speak for others. I’m quite aware that for those who love and care for children with low functioning Autism I can try to understand the hurt and desperation felt. I don’t want to hurt anyone with my feelings, I can only share how the word “cure” makes me feel.

Being someone with High Functioning Autism, to quote Temple Grandin I also feel,

“I am different, not less.”

To cure is to fix and make better.

I don’t quite understand what is wrong with me or my kids. We struggle to make sense of the way this world is. But we get by and give as we can to community. We accept those around us and try hard to fit the best we can, so to me to cure me means changing me to be like everyone else.

I don’t want to be like everyone else, I like being me!

There are those who manipulate

I think one of the biggest problems for those of us on the spectrum is we listen to and absorb the opinions of others.

As children we were excited by life and we didn’t see anything wrong with us.

As we get older and gain understanding, also learn to conform to societies “norm” that is when we start to lose self.

“A place where I can be me!”

My blog, is a place for me to find self again, to find who I am created to be,

to find my inner Shirley!

As a Christian for me this means to be open and honest and to seek God and His will for my life.

To keep open my Aspie eyes and heart.

That also means to recognise.

Everyone of you who reads my blog and leaves me comments help me to discover little pieces of who I lost. Your words encourage me. Thank you for helping me put this Aspie Jig-saw together.

Just as Elijah waited for the Ravens to bring him meat and bread, and drank from the brook.

I wait on God to help me see, to help me discover who I am in Christ.

I have no idea what it means to be gifted with Aspergers Syndrome.

I’m waiting to find out!

Love and hugs my friends.

Lisa. xx 🙂

4 thoughts on ““I’m waiting to find out!”

  1. I don’t see any reason why you should change .what’s normal the way i do things isn’t necessarily normal for everyone else ‘just be yourself ,that’s who you are .You are dealing with life’s challenges better than most of us can .we should be taking lessons form you ,by being ourselves in stead of trying to be like the rest of the world wants us to be like .You are on the right track Lisa ,keep up the good work .we all should Go to God for guidance like you do .the world would be a better place .
    Thanks for putting on such interesting and educational posts .God bless you.
    Blessings and hugs
    Eileen

  2. I am so glad we get to share in this journey of self discovery and embracing our uniqueness. Along with understanding our Aspieness through each other and others as well in Bloggy Land. You are an inspiration and give such wonderful insights.

    Thank you for sharing you!

    Lots of love,
    Angel

  3. This post was very insightful. I love that you love who you are and don’t want to be changed. “You Go Girl!!” to coin a phrase. Love you xxxx

  4. Lisa,
    I too am glad you do not want to change. I wish people would change their words to wanting to fix the broken system that does not give them enough support to help their children function the best they can instead of fix or cure autism. I know words hurt. You and your children are amazing just the way you are.

Leave a Reply

