Plate spinning with Michelangelo

Hello my lovely bloggy friends,

I will say that the events of the last couple of days have taken me on quite a rollercoaster ride of emotions. Most people can just ignore negativity and push it out of their minds. Not me, that’s why I am so very careful of what I read, watch and who I spend time with.

My Aspie/Dyslexic mind sees in pictures, not only pictures but picture overlays. I can be doing one thing and seeing another. This is wonderful with a positive mind frame, I can make connections that others can’t see. But with a negative mind frame, my negative thought loop can take me into a spiral that only those who experience it or have loved ones on the spectrum can understand.

The negative comment I got was not the problem,

It was the build up of 42 years of negative comments that I have stored in my mind. I have had a video rerun of every stomach turning, heart wrenching, mind numbing comment that I have received in my life, and they have been quietly but constantly playing for the last two days. This morning I went into shutdown.

Now let’s squash the ANT’s shall we!

Automatic Negative Thoughts (ANT’s) are not from God, they are REALLY annoying.

Over the last two days as I have been getting on with things…as.you.do… my little *CAL has been learning to spin plates.

My girl is Autistic and has Dyspraxia

Yep…that is a WHOLE LOAD of issues if you want to look for them.

But what have I seen.

Determination, concentration, eagerness, discipline, joy, pleasure, happiness, focus and LOADS more.

But most of all I see the fingerprints of God, that my daughter is Wonderfully Wired.

She is exactly who she is created to be and she is loved unconditionally and accepted by us for who she is.

She doesn’t see her weaknesses she sees what she wants to do and goes and does it.

She has mastered the art of spinning plates,

She can also flip them, jump them, and catch them on a stick.

She only stopped spinning to eat and keep to her routine.

She also stopped for TV and computer time.

She amazes me.

We are all Masterpieces in the Making

And I am convinced and sure of this very thing, that He Who began a good work in you will continue until the day of Jesus Christ [right up to the time of His return], developing [that good work] and perfecting and bringing it to full completion in you (Philippians 1:6, AMP).

This scripture came to me as my online Bible study today,

also the following.

As Michelangelo was working, I’m sure that lots of people came through the corridors of the chapel and stood in amazement. As they looked up at the beauty of his work, I bet they said things like, “That is the most fantastic work of art I have ever seen!” or “Extraordinary!” To which he might have said, “It’s not done!” But did the unfinished state of the project negate that parts of the ceiling were beautiful? No! The parts that were complete were still extravagant and breathtaking.

Maybe this is the way God and others see our lives. It’s common for people to notice the work God has done in us and comment on the beauty. And even though compliments are nice to hear, I’ve been known to resist them. (Admit it, you probably have too.) It’s not so much a humility thing as it is an “I-don’t-see-myself-as-beautiful” thing. From my limited perspective, I can see only the unfinished work. But in truth, my vantage point doesn’t negate the beauty of the work God has done and is doing in my life.

Real beauty isn’t about a finished or flawless product. It can’t be. It’s not possible on this side of eternity to have completed beauty. Our restoration will be complete in the presence of God when we see Him face to face.

Love and hugs everyone.

Lisa. xx 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Plate spinning with Michelangelo

  1. Wow! I’ve never read that Michelangelo thing before but it’s so true!

    And tell CAL that she has to teach me to spin plates one day!

  2. Wow, I want to learn to do that! Did she learn by herself or did she have circus school ? a friend of ours in NSW has a daughter who attends a school who has circus as part of the curriculum. All I can say is Awsome xxxx ange

    • Hi Ange,
      We went to the Circus and one of the clowns taught me and *AJ to spin them.
      *CAL was a bit afraid of the clown so hid with my Auntie.
      So I have been teaching her when she asks for help.
      She learnt to juggle also by watching YouTube.
      Here favourite YouTube station charlieissocoollike did lessons on juggling.
      It was like *CAL heaven for her….hehehe
      Love and hugs. xx 🙂

  3. Great post – being obsessed with something is the beginning of greatness 😉 It is easy to dwell on negative comments – even those from way in the past (I do that all too often) – I must remember to squash the ANTs – thanks.

  4. Cal was plate spinning at mine yesterday and I would be completely useless at anything like that. I know all about ANTS, horrible to think that one negative word can start them off but this is often the case. Sometimes it’s a dark place to visit but we have to sometimes to put things in perspective. Not for the benefit of the person that spoke negitively, who you have nothing to prove to, but for your own sake. Love this post and Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

