Thorn in my side

Hello my lovely bloggy friends,

I REALLY didn’t think I’d be writing a post tonight, but God had other plans I suddenly felt inspired and I have something to share.

First of all can I just say thank you my lovely friend for praying.

“Thank you!” šŸ˜‰ xx (She knows who she is)

.

I went to see my counsellor this morning.

I have been DESPERATE to see her all this week, but come this morning I was sat rocking on my bed worried sick about how to talk to her about what I REALLY couldn’t get my head around.

I surprised myself I actually managed it.

Ok…I looked at the floor and stuttered a bit, stimmed quite a lot but that’s fine, she’s cool with the whole Aspie thing. She listened and helped me find my words very patiently and eventually I got to the end of my 50 minute hour.

Next week when I meet with her hopefully I will have processed some of this and will have a clue to how I’m feeling.

I have really wanted to paint but I haven’t felt inspired.

Emotions usually help with this or music…this week, NO…NOT BEEN HAPPENING!!!

But today I read this in a study

Constantly search for gifts and abilities on which you can work. Don’t be afraid of change. It is a sign of life and growth. Change what needs to be changed, accept what you cannot change and quit whining about it! Don’t waste another minute trying to be someone you were never created to be. Stop questioning God’s design for your life. When an old man from the mountains of North Carolina was asked how he created such extraordinary wooden carvings of dogs, he replied, “Well, I just take my knife and a piece of wood and carve away everything that doesn’t look like a dog.” Learning to see yourself through the eyes of God is like “carving away” everything that is not part of the original design – God’s plan – and then learning how to accept what remains.

When I read these words I burst into tears

I remember being little Lisa before this world hurt me with all its prickliness.

As a child I wanted to be a Butterfly, Shirley Bassey, part of ABBA and The Nolan’s.

I was a happy, loving, trusting and VERY energetic child.

I loved drawing and sewing, in fact I loved making things with my hands.

I was a chatterbox, who never stopped singing and dancing.

I see this side of me when I am with people who accept me and love me for who I am.

It’s time to carve away all that prickliness, all those thorns that poke, prod and trap.

I thought of something to paint

I have my first sketch ready, obviously my painting will be abstract, I LOVE painting abstract, but this is what will be beneath my layers of paint.

Love and hugs everyone.

Lisa. xx šŸ™‚

So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

John 8:36 (NIV)

21 thoughts on “Thorn in my side

  1. Wow! I have been off the radar on reading blogs lately but I am amazed at how everyone seems to be having a common theme. It seems like we are all on the same Aspie loop! I am so encouraged by your post Lisa! Thank you for sharing what you read from your study. It was perfect!

    I love you!!
    Angel

  2. Hi Lisa! I just love this post! It’s beautiful, as are you :). I am right there with you. Reading that passage from your study brought tears to my eyes too.

    • Hello bickleyhouse,
      thank you for you kind words and thank you for visiting my blog.
      I will be coming over to have a look around yours soon.
      Love and hugs. xx šŸ™‚

  3. Beautiful! Glad you were able to have these positive experiences with your counsellor and through your studying. Blessings to you this week!

  4. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some research on that. And he just bought me lunch as I found it for him smile. Therefore let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! “Creativity comes from zeal to do something, generally it is to make some money.” by B. J. Gupta.

    • Thanks for your comment Sterling Melman,
      Althought I really could do with a bit more money, I’m quite happy to use my creativity to find who I am and how I can please God. My creativity I find comes from my emotions and as an Aspie they are hard to understand, but I feel I’m learning and writing is helping me so much with that.
      Love and hugs. xx šŸ™‚

  5. God will guide you through this. I am proud that reading your post today went from very negative experience to a positive with your art. Love the butterfly. Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

