Habakkuk and Mario, what do they have in common?

Hello lovely bloggy friends,

Habakkuk what’s a Habakkuk?

It’s a book named after a prophet and you can find it in the old Testament. It’s actually only 3 pages long and it comes between Nahum and Zephaniah. Not a lot is know about Habakkuk except he was a contemporary of Jeremiah, he had active faith and was deeply rooted in the traditions of Israel.

Ok…I won’t go on, but what I would like to point out is I can actually read this book and understand it.

Why is that, when I struggle to read and comprehend most things?

I’ll leave that question with you!

Recently, I have been trying too hard.

Trying to think my way out, also reading too many ASD blogs trying to understand my own Aspie ways. My focus got messed up and Autism became too loud. I am me and this I find by seeing the creation of me as a gift not a disability.

Yesterday I chatted with my closest friend about EVERYTHING that has been looping around in my brain. Then I spent some time making fractals and listening to music. Talking it all out, with someone I can be totally myself with, really helps me as I am able to process the cycles my mind goes in.

My friend said something very interesting to me.

She said when her brain is overloaded she just wants to go to sleep. My friend is NT, so she can do this. This is such a strange concept for me. I can’t possibly imagine being able to sleep while my head is trying to work something out.

It’s ALWAYS the “NOT KNOWING”

The “NOT KNOWING” loop that starts up in my head is a real pain. As a kid I would ask lots of questions…. I MEAN LOTS and LOTS OF QUESTIONS!!!

Here are a few I remember;

  • Mom…what do you like most, Dragons, Dinosaurs or multi-headed monsters?
  • Mom…Who do you think is the best, Pacman or Jumpman?
  • Do you think it would be good to have Blinky, Pinky, Inky and Clyde in a game with Jumpman Mom?
  • We could even put Donkey Kong in it too, that would be good wouldn’t it Mom?
  • Mom…What arcade game do you like best galaxian, pacman, space invaders or Donkey Kong?
  • Mom…Do you think they can put a Dragon in a video game soon?
  • I’d like to fly on a dragon, are dragons really real Mom?
  • Can I have a Dragon one day Mom?

Ok…I think you get the gist.

My special interests were Dragons and arcade games. I asked my Mom over and over again, I didn’t need to know WHY she liked what she said she liked. I just needed to know she was interested in what I loved. She was my most important person, no one else mattered and I didn’t really want to know what they liked. I did like to talk about my special things though, I remember talking none stop about Dougal and the Blue Cat, dragons I had drawn and brought to life in my head and my beloved Atari games plus my gamer-play.

What brought all these thoughts together today?

A comment was left on a blog that I follow.

The comment was left by an Aspie bloggy friend of mine.

This is what the comment said,

“Just say Mario. If you’re asked why say “cause he is Mario!!” if he asks why say “I’ll get back to you in a day or so.” then ask me the answer. It is very long.”

Right now this is where I see tangents!

Habakkuk 3:18-19 (Amplified Bible)

18Yet I will rejoice in the Lord; I will exult in the [victorious] God of my salvation! 19The Lord God is my Strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ feet and will make me to walk [not to stand still in terror, but to walk] and make [spiritual] progress upon my high places [of trouble, suffering, or responsibility]!

This scripture pulled me out of my shutdown.

Notice our high places are of trouble, suffering, or responsibility. God teaches and refines as we go through, we are in the high place, next to our Saviour…what a comforting thought that is for me.

So, what have Mario and Habakkuk got in common?

“Jumpman” was also the original name used for Mario in the 1981 arcade game Donkey Kong,

Mario did not stand still in terror but he walked and he jumped his way to victory, he progressed to his high place, he went through trouble and suffering and he took responsibility on himself to rescue Princess Peach. He was a plumber but he was given a mission and he actively pursued his destiny….hehehe

Ok, you may think I’m a complete nutter, but this is how God created me.

Getting to know God became my special interest in my 20’s.

Why?…..because this world kept letting me down.

God is all about the “NOT KNOWING” but His answers are worth waiting for. His “NOT KNOWING” doesn’t cycle round in my brain. Reading the Bible actually calms my loops.

Just as the video games I played were full of “NOT KNOWING” they were also familiar, the characters became my friends and their pace was as fast as my brain.

The prophets and disciples are familiar to me, the Bible is full of “NOT KNOWING” and every time I read it I learn something new. But it’s a safe “NOT KNOWING” because I know that Jesus took away all the complications, all the perplexity and the wisdom of this world. He was a carpenter, His friends were fishermen. He made it so very simple when he said,

“Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”

His disciples were rebuking the crowd they didn’t see the children as important. Jesus saw quite the opposite. He took them in his mighty arms and He became like them.

Sorry this is a long post, I do tend to babble!

Mario is a hero, he is also a legend in my opinion. Just like Mickey Mouse…hehe

The prophets, disciples and Apostle all left us their footprints.

But for me…I always need to look to Jesus.

Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. (Hebrews 12:2 NIV 84)

And..as for the “NOT KNOWING”

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. (Hebrews 11:1)

Love and hugs everyone.

Lisa. xx 🙂

14 thoughts on “Habakkuk and Mario, what do they have in common?

  1. Thanks for the link!! I am unaware of the creators original intent behind mario or if he was Christian, but that link makes sense. Somethings make a connection to me, like movies and their true meanings. Most movies have a meaning that lies there, waiting for you to find it. Life is all about hidden meanings. There must be a reason for me to hear the sounds I hear that most people can’t.

  2. Dragons Rock! Your dragon name shall be Lisaloogoar. 🙂 Hee hee

    So does that mean that we are called “Jumper Women”? Boing! Boing! Boing!

    Today I had a major “Aha” moment with the “not knowing” and guess what? I am free to run, I am free to dance, I am free!!

    Well for the moment. Ha ha ha I know my loops too well. 🙂

    Love this post and you too!!
    Angel

    • Thank you Tilly, I do believe you are right, shame the teachers didn’t get that though.
      Oh well…we live and we learn. Love and hugs my friend. Lisa. xx 🙂

  3. I can’t imagine trying to sleep either when my mind is swirling!

    And no, you’re not a complete nutter. I like you just as you are.

    xxoo–y

  4. This is lovely Lisa. Considering I saw a lot of Mario this afternoon. I like the fact that Mario is a Super Hero Plumber. The Scriptures are a good way to communicate and I loved how you made the connection between Habbakuk and Mario. Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

