Just a babble and a giggle! (Embarrassing moments)

Hello friends out in bloggyland,

I just got back from dropping my *AJ off at his girlfriends.

I do love our little chats in the car we have such a giggle.

*AJ talked about a misplaced face.

The Aspies in my family do this all the time, we know faces from places.

Put them in a different place and we haven’t got a clue who they are.

Quite a few years back

Before I’d ever heard the word Aspergers, I bumped into a neighbour in a petrol station and she chatted with me for quite some time before she asked me if I was ok. I was completely confused to who she was and how she knew me. I was in my early 20’s and wasn’t as good at smiling and nodding as I am now.

It’s funny because I saw this neighbour at a social gathering I was dreading going to and she remembered this incident and I was able to explain to her. Only 20 years later…hehehe

Well me and *AJ then went onto EMBARRASSING MOMENTS

So as I LOVE to babble and I don’t really worry too much what I babble about, I thought I’d share probably the worst and MOST embarrassing moment of my adult years…In other words the most recent one.

If you follow my blog

You will remember a post I wrote about collecting and the emotions of parting with things of sentimental value.

You will remember the hurt I went through when the extension was built on my home and I had to part with the unopened boxes.

Those boxes full of memories.

As an Aspie I connect strongly to my emotions, thoughts and feelings when I touch things.

It triggers off the replays in my head and I can almost feel back in the time I would like to be in.

I LOVE being a Mom, it’s something I dreamed of

So parting with certain baby items was extremely hard for me, well the building work meant I had to clear out the loft space.

So here we go, my most recent embarrassing moment.

I never learn where speaking is concerned, I constantly get things wrong.

On my less confident days I don’t speak a words, but I think LOADS and LOADS.

On my confident days…..well, I tend to say what I think, I get myself into terrible pickles with this.

On this particular day I had revved myself up to doing something I REALLY didn’t want to do.

I was taking *CAL’s travel cot to the charity shop.

I had loads of bags and boxes of things that I was fine about taking.

The travel cot however, was NOT one of them.

I stood it up the side of the car while I put everything else in, and then when I looked up a young couple was walking towards me holding hands.

I thought perfect I can help them out, this travel cot has hardly been used.

I got so excited, I so love helping people,

I thought to myself…God has REALLY helped me here.

“Excuse me love, say no if you don’t want it…but it’s hardly been used,

would you like this travel cot?”

She said…“WHAT?!” and screwed her face up at me.

So me being the plonker I am… repeated myself,

“It’s hardly been used, would you like it…I’m just about to take it to the charity shop?”

Then she says…“Why would you think I want a travel cot?”

Yes I actually DID say this…

“Well, because you’re having a baby aren’t you? You look about 6 months pregnant!”

I’m laughing my head off now writing this, but at the time I thought she was going to kill me.

So there you have it, my most recent embarrassing moment.

Also I learnt a very valuable lesson at the age of 41.

…….Assumption is the mother of all cock ups Lisa!

15 thoughts on “Just a babble and a giggle! (Embarrassing moments)

  1. THanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog. I don’t have many readers and even fewer comments, so I enjoy knowing that someone is reading.

    I told all of the males in my family that unless a woman TELLS you she is pregnant, you do not make any comments on their pregnancy – even if it looks like the woman is about to give birth. It will save them an emberrassing moment iF they follow my advice. .

    • Hello CrazwwTeacher Lady,
      I really like your blog, I shared one of your posts on my fb, it really touched me.
      Thanks for the advice, I will never assume again, I could have died of embarrassment.
      Thanks for commenting.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx 🙂

  2. I can so identify, Lisa. I have vivid memories fom the time was very young. I remember seeing my cousin on one of those rocking horses with springs and thought, “Oh no, it’s going to break! I’d better warn him.” I went up to him and said, “You are too fat to sit on that toy. You’d better get off before it breaks and you fall.” He immediately started crying and my other cousins started yelling at me and telling me I was mean. I could not for the life of me figure out what was mean about trying to save my cousin from a nasty fall. I kept telling them, “Well, he IS too fat to be on it and he IS going to fall. I just didn’t want him to fall!”

    I’ve also done the pregnant woman thing. I am a teacher by trade and used to work at an after school tutoring center. There was a new teacher training one day who looked pregnant. She worked so well with the kids, I told her, “You are going to make an amazing mother.” Her face suddenly changed and she said, “What? How do you know I am a mother?” Turns out she had a two month old baby at home. : ( I felt awful.

    We also do the “face out of place” in our family on a regular basis. Some child will come up to my kids and say, “Hi, B!” and very obviously knows him. When we walk away I’ll say, “Who was that?” and my son will say, “I have no idea.”

    You are not alone. Thanks for sharing! It’s always good to know I’m not alone too.

    • Hello nobodyelsethoughtofthis,
      It’s great to see your comment here, I’m so slow at answering comment. When my head is good and my loops are calm I TOTALLY love answering my comments. This week I’ve been a bit LOOPY, so I waited till now.
      Your stories REALLY gave me a giggle, thanks so much for sharing.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx 🙂

  3. “Whoop’s, one footeth straight into gobeth” Something I do a lot as I am really honest without thinking. I felt sorry for a girl at School because quite honestly she had an awful smell and didn’t clean her teeth. I was nominated by everyone to tell her to wash. Everyone was quite cruel to her and I decided it was time for honesty. “I think that if you spend less money on sweets and buy some soap people will like you. How horrible this truth must have been.

Leave a Reply

