I had a strange experience

Hello my lovely bloggy friends,

I had a strange experience while out having a coffee today. I sat and chatted with a lovely lady who I know is very well meaning. I don’t really know her I was trying to be friendly, I didn’t think she knew much about me. It seems that she knew a lot more than I have told her and she felt she needed to give me advise about my life. The penny dropped pretty quickly as I know who she has been talking to, she had already told me. The slant on what she knew I have also heard before. I get extremely hurt by this, and it takes me a long time to actually filter through my feelings with this type of behaviour.

I made a decision today

It was my decision to make, I went out and interacted with others in the best way I can. I was doing fine until this conversation happened. Then I just wanted to go home and be away from everyone again.

Knowing that people are talking about me is not at all helpful. I am an adult and I am quite capable of explaining my own life to those I choose to explain it to. It’s pretty simple really isn’t it.

Here is a poem I wrote today,

I’m sorry for ranting, I just needed to vent.

I am so glad I have my blog and ALL my lovely bloggy friends.

You make me smile, thank you for accepting me just as I am.

Love and hugs.

Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

I have my own life!

by Alienhippy

Stop looking and just seeing I’m Aspie

Look deeper at the person within

I’m different but this doesn’t define me

I’m loyal, I’m loving, I don’t give in.

~

When I look at myself as you see me

I hide and put on my clown mask

That’s fine for a while, it makes people happy

But when I’m home, alone, drained no-one will ask

~

How are you? How are you really? Are you ok?

I saw you, but you didn’t see me!

I was wondering what you had been up to today?

I’ve got time for a chat, are you free?

~

As this is the pattern of life up to now

I need to be kinder to myself

I need to start loving who I am, but how?

This world’s ways are not good for mental health

~

I guess I need to spend less time in stressing

More with God and the creation of me

Stop wanting for others to be more accepting

But accepting myself, just as me!

14 thoughts on “I had a strange experience

  1. I am sorry Lisa!

    My stomach turns into a knot when I discover people are talking about me and my affairs without ever actually talking to me. Plus adding their advice to the mix is just too much, as well.

    This is an awesome poem and you are an awesome person!! All of us see how wonderful you are, hopefully it will help you to see how wonderful you are! πŸ™‚ And I do love your brain. Gonk! Snort! Hee hee I made myself Lol!

    Love, love we do, you know we all love you……..8-D

    • I love you Angel…you really make me smile.
      I know you “get it” we are so alike, in so many ways.
      I’m glad you love my brain, Pinky!! πŸ™‚ I love it too when it’s NOT looping on me.
      But did you know… that I love your brain too my whacky friend.
      Keep being you my wonderful friend, you are just adorable.
      Love you loads. xxx πŸ™‚

  2. That is an unpleasant experience for you, but the woman probably meant well.

    Her ignorance is what causes her to offend you, so perhaps you could direct people to read your blog, or another blog on the same subject, if you prefer to keep yours private.

    You are a brave woman; keep doing what you’re doing πŸ™‚

    • Hi Tilly,
      I know this lady meant well, she’s a lovely lady.
      It wasn’t anything to do with my Aspieness, she had a slant on how she spoke to me and it hurts when people can’t accept that I am an adult and I am capable of making my own choices. I know I can be easily manipulated and I am VERY careful now with who I allow to influence my mind. So this persons opinion of how I live, when I have never told her what I do, came as quite a shock.
      I’m over it now though and I have learnt so much.
      My counsellor has given me advice that I will stick too.
      Thank you for all your comments on my posts Tilly, I really appreciate who you are.
      Thank you also for your prayers.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

  3. Just be yourself Lisa. People will always have their own opinions and it is true what Tilly has said. A lot of people mean well but do not and cannot possibly understand. Love you loads xxxx

  4. So much of life’s energy is wasted upon attempting to please others…often the advise given is from someone who is unhappy with their own lives…remember those who love.

  5. I agree with Tilly’s suggestions πŸ˜€ Also, don’t worry about trying to explain yourself to others….we should not have to explain our existence to anybody.

    Chloe xx

    • Love you Chloe….I agree, we should not have to explain our existence to anybody.
      Hugs, munchies, smiles and ***WAVES coming to you my lovely friend. Lisa xxx πŸ™‚

  6. I have a hard time appreciating the good qualities in people when I spend too much time being confronted with their personalities. I’m much better with small doses. It’s difficult to separate people’s intentions from how it actually feels being around them, and I usually need some distance to process and get a happier perspective.

    I’m sorry you had such an unpleasant experience. I love your poem – especially this part: “This world’s ways are not good for mental health”. You are wonderful just as you are, and other people having their own issues and unpleasant ways of interacting is a reflection on them, not you.

    • Hello Diane,
      your comment was JUST perfect my friend, you seem to process exactly like me.
      Thank you for sharing, it’s great to not feel alone with this.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

