“I’m just being me, I’m sharing my Bible Babble!”

Hello my lovely bloggy friends,

I decided to let you all in on a few of my thoughts while having a Bible study this morning.

Aren’t you all so very blessed.

I really mean that you know, I don’t do this very often…giggle.

So if you aren’t at all interested in this side of the Alienhippy, now is the time to click off and read something more to your liking.

Everyone else… I’m smiling at you.

Thank you! πŸ™‚ Β xx

My Bible study starting in 1 Corinthians 1, let’s see where we end up!

I was thinking today of something my counsellor said on Friday. She mentioned that from a young age it seems to her, I started to feel responsible for everything going on around me.

Mom’s depression and Dad not understanding (because he is Autistic)

I constantly felt it was my fault that Mom cried so much.

Then when Mom went to college and then got an evening job, I looked after my baby sister and cooked all the meals for everyone.

Now I’m not saying this was wrong, it’s life, it’s the way it was. It’s just that I wasn’t happy at school. I would come home and I felt needed by my little sister and I could see that when I did all the chores it made my lovely Mom happy.

This pattern became part of who I am. I feel a need to look after and protect everyone I love, I’m not saying this is wrong either, I love that I am like this.

I suppose because I was never really very good at anything at school, and I left school not being able to even read confidently. I got a lot of encouragement in knowing I could love and look after people.

I relate to Martha quite a lot with this (Luke 10:38-42)

Martha worried about preparations for all around her, she took it on herself and missed who she was.

In verses 41-42, I imagine Jesus to say these words with love, compassion and understanding. Not in the way I have been taught by mankind. Jesus knew, loved and understood Martha.

John 11:5Β (Amplified Bible)

5Now Jesus loved Martha and her sister and Lazarus.

[They were His dear friends, and He held them in loving esteem.]

If you have time read John 11:1-44

….for me this really shows the depth of loving friendship Jesus has.

So even though my natural state is to be more like Mary,

I do find my brain is constantly telling me what I need to do to make people happy.

When in fact it’s not really up to me to make people happy.

More and more I feel God showing me this, that He will bring what is needed and He will lead the way. I just need to trust and keep being myself. Giving to those that He has blessed my life with.

What I read today and how it spoke to me

I’ve read this scripture many times, but today it spoke differently to me.

1 Corinthians 1Β (Good News Translation)

26 Now remember what you were, my friends, when God called you. From the human point of view few of you were wise or powerful or of high social standing.27 God purposely chose what the world considers nonsense in order to shame the wise, and he chose what the world considers weak in order to shame the powerful.28 He chose what the world looks down on and despises and thinks is nothing, in order to destroy what the world thinks is important.29 This means that no one can boast in God’s presence.30 But God has brought you into union with Christ Jesus, and God has made Christ to be our wisdom. By him we are put right with God; we become God’s holy people and are set free.31 So then, as the scripture says, Whoever wants to boast must boast of what the Lord has done.

A little bit of History on Corinth;

  • In Paul’s day Corinth had a population of about 250,000 free people, plus as many as 400,000 slaves.
  • It was a crossroads for travellers and traders, it had two harbours. Goods flowed through the city from Italy and Spain, from Asia minor, Phoenicia and Egypt.
  • It’s people were interested in Greek philosophy and placed a high premium on wisdom.
  • Corinth contained at least 12 temples. One of the most infamous was the temple dedicated to Aphrodite, whose worshippers practised religious prostitution.

In a setting like this… no wonder the Christian Church had so many problems.

It seems that a few of the reasons Paul’s letter was written were;

  • To break down the factions that had developed in the Church.
  • To instruct and restore the Church in its areas of weakness.
  • Correct the false teachings concerning the resurrection

When I read my Bible I like to have a bit of background to why it was written.

What was God communicating and who was He communicating to, and why?

Gotta love the Aspie questioning, and tangent thinking, it takes me all over the place. πŸ™‚

So…some thoughts I have here

To me, Corinth seems very much like many big cities of our time now.

To fit we need to belong to a group, act as they do and be just like them.

But I feel God is telling me something different.

I live in a big city and I have always felt I don’t belong, maybe this is my Autism or maybe everyone feels this way…I don’t know, I can only speak for me.

I do not consider myself to be of any status on this planet.

But I do know that God loves me and He will guide me in where He is leading me.

I haven’t got a clue where that is, and I try not to think too much about it, it will definitely start up some loops.

I just need to pray to learn to trust in His plans, His plans are to prosper not to harm, to give me hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11-13)

Jeremiah 9:24 (I noticed this scripture for the first time today)

If any want to boast, they should boast that they know and understand me, because my love is constant, and I do what is just and right.

These are the things that please me. I, the Lord, have spoken.

You see I even babble in my Bible study, my brain never stops

So I want to boast this…I can read and write now, it took Jesus 3 months to teach me what school failed to do in 11 years.

God put a passion in my heart to know Him, and my Aspie obsessive nature took over.

I have a need to feed, all my questions.

God knows each of us and loves us for who we are.

He gives each of us gifts and we only need to look to Him to be and become.

Love, hugs, blessings and peace to all my lovely bloggy friends. xx πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on ““I’m just being me, I’m sharing my Bible Babble!”

  1. thanks for doing this blog on your bible study ,I love it .More people should do the same thing.you really understand the bible and can put it in your own words forsure .
    Blessings and hugs
    Eileen

  2. Beautiful. I’ve not gone to the Bible in a while and I find great peace reading it. Thanks for giving me a calm moment admist all the muck righ now.
    xx

    • You are very welcome my friend,
      I may do more of this as it’s very easy blog foda for me.
      Thanks for exposing my reading material…giggle, I still plan to get you back.
      Love you loads. xxx πŸ™‚

  3. Hi- I don’t think I’ve ever commented on your blog but, I just wanted to let you know I appreciate what you have to say here. Thanks for sharing your bible study.

    • Hello Eliana,
      It’s so nice to have a new commenter.
      Please come back and comment whenever you want to.
      I love getting comments, I find them so encouraging.
      You have made my day today, thank you.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Oldies are the besties | Alienhippy's Blog

Leave a Reply

