Me thinks, me is re-thinking!!!

Hello my lovely bloggy friends,

I wasn’t going to blog tonight, but I just spent some time reading and quite a few thoughts came to mind.

Be warned I might actually start talking about God, Jesus and reading my Bible in this post.

Now is your opportunity to run for the hills, if you haven’t got the guts to read on… 🙂 giggle

So, those who are still reading…Are you ready???

I have been reading a selection of books recently by Joyce Meyer.

My dyslexia makes me a VERY slow reader, however I do enjoy learning from scripture.

I have been having a tough time over the last few weeks, but trying so hard to push through it.

I have found myself shutting down almost every day. I try my best to communicate in these times because if I don’t I go into isolation.

Before I started blogging I had gone into total isolation

I had just about had enough of how I felt in this world, and I was ready to just keep away from as many people as possible.

In fact I totally cut myself off, only really talking with the milkman…if I had to.

Through my blog

And the friendships I have found here, I have learnt so much about myself.

What I have come to realise over the last few days is that as much as I try to be positive about things, my mind set is extremely negative when it comes to self.

I believe that this comes down to always misunderstanding what goes on around me.

Also being misunderstood.

Not having a clue that I have grown up with Aspergers Syndrome and never really understanding why I felt so different, so alone.

This has all definitely had an effect.

It’s the NOT KNOWING!!

I have learnt over the years to analyse and predict.

I have been wrong many times and felt bitterly disappointed, so I know that I started to view everything in regards to self with a negative slant. This way… things didn’t hurt so bad when they went wrong. I’d already prepared for the worst.

I started this very young, I was discussing this with my counsellor on Friday.

I don’t see myself as worthy of very much at all.

Now I know…!!!

As a Christian this sounds absolutely terrible and in certain denominations this type of thinking is rebuked.

I KNOW…believe me!

This kind of thinking is put on us as we grow, it’s the environments we live in, the experiences we go through.

It’s not kind to rebuke a person who is already down trodden by life.

Love and acceptance is what is needed but also…I believe, a firm direction towards God.

As God is the one true constant.

Sorry to preach, I don’t mean to do it….it just pops out sometimes. Ooopsi.

I’m telling myself really, I’m WAY too hard on myself.  😉 😉 giggle

Anyway what got me thinking about this is the following,

When I read this I recognised these words straight away, they are almost exactly what my frantic thought loop says to me.

This can go on constantly in my head for days and eventually I get really sick of it.

I have learnt that praying will switch this off for a time. But it will come back.

I’m hoping with my counselling and getting closer to God I will overcome this.

My lovely friend Fiona suggested that I had a read of Battlefield of the mind by Joyce Meyer.

I’m so glad she told me about this book. It has really helped me today.

This is a chunk of what I read and then decided to blog.

I do find that writing my thoughts down really helps me.

Enjoy. 🙂 xx

When discouragement or condemnation tries to overtake you, examine your thought life. What kind of thoughts have you been thinking? Have they sounded something like this?

‘I’m not going to make it; this is too hard. I always fail, it has always been the same, nothing ever changes, I’m sure other people don’t have this much trouble getting their minds renewed. I may as well give up. I’m tired of trying. I pray, but it seems as if God doesn’t hear. He probably doesn’t answer my prayers because He is so disappointed in the way I act.’

If this example represents your thoughts, it is no wonder you get discouraged or come under condemnation. Remember, you become what you think. Think discouraging thoughts, and you’ll get discouraged. Think condemning thoughts, and you’ll come under condemnation. Change your thinking and be set free!

Instead of thinking negative think like this:

‘Well, things are going a little slow; but, thank God, I’m making some progress. I’m very glad I’m on the right path that will lead me to freedom. I had a rough day yesterday. I chose wrong thinking all day long. Father, forgive me, and help me to “keep on keeping on”. I made a mistake, but at least that is one mistake I won’t have to make again. This is a new day. You love me, Lord. Your mercy is new every morning.

‘I refuse to be discouraged. I refuse to be condemned. Father the Bible says that You don’t condemn me. You sent Jesus to die for me. I’ll be fine – today will be a great day. You help me choose right thoughts today.’

I’m sure you can already feel the victory in this type of cheerful, positive, God-like thinking.

Psalm 42:5 (Amplified Bible)

Why are you cast down, O my inner self? And why should you moan over me and be disquieted within me? Hope in God and wait expectantly for Him, for I shall yet praise Him, my Help and my God.

13 thoughts on “Me thinks, me is re-thinking!!!

  1. I’m so proud of you Lees!
    Joyce is absolutely AWESOME isn’t she!
    God is bringing out some beautiful things in you and helping you to work though some major issues and i KNOW that there is are big and mighty things in your future.

    Love ya!

    Fi x

  2. I’m glad you are finding things that help you. I watched a Joyce Meyer broadcast where she mentioned Battlefield of the Mind, and the title really appealed to me. I think she has a lot of great ideas to share and really understands what it is to be down and how to pick yourself back up.

  3. Ooh, I just logged onto my library’s website to see if they have Battlefield of the Mind. Not only do they have that, but there’s a Battlefield of the Mind for Teens, as well. There’s also a Battlefield of the Mind Devotional book. I don’t know what kind of reading works best for you, but I’m guessing a devotional book would have shorter inspirational messages to carry with you through the day. Just thought I’d mention that.

    Love and Peace. 🙂

    • Hello Diane,
      You are so very kind thinking to let me know about these books. I will certainly be checking them out. I just love Joyce Meyer.
      Love, hugs and peace to you.
      Lisa. xx 🙂

  4. I’ve been thinking recently about some scriptures that always seemed to be encouraging to other people, but felt condemning to me. For example, if the Bible says, “Perfect love casts out fear,” and I am fearful, then does that mean I don’t really have God’s love in me?

    I’ve really come to appreciate verses like “Work out your own salvation with fear and trembling” – each of us has our own journey and we all have to process things in our own way as we come closer to God.

    Thanks for sharing your process with us. 🙂

    • Hi Aspergirl Maybe,
      It’s funny you know the verse you quoted from 1 John 4 is one of my favourites and really helps me. I think we all are so very different in how we interpret God’s word. As I have been messed up by religion I tend now to study out God’s word for myself. As some people can misquote and misguide.

      The history behind John’s letter briefly is this;
      It is believed that this letter was sent to a number of believer in the province of Asia, at a time when Gnosticism was very strongly followed. Gnostics believed that the flesh body was evil and would treat it harshly…hence the fear.

      John wrote this letter with 2 purposes in mind.
      1. to expose false doctrine and teachers.
      2. to give believers assurance of salvation.

      If you take this scripture now in context, with a small amount of history you can see why John wrote these words to his brothers and sisters. He didn’t want them to fear and he was challenging the false teaching they were swayed into following.

      When I came out of the religious sect I was in, this very scripture was stuck in my head, so I studied it. The punishment I still struggle with is self rejection, but God is not about rejection, God is about love. The ways of the world put fear and rejection upon us.
      I’m sorry this is such a long comment it’s just that the scriptures were used on me in such a bad way and I hate it when God’s word is taken out of context and causes hurt.
      After I learnt the where? why? when? and who’s? of this I felt I could take it in and process, meditate on it so much better. I do this with all scripture I’m not sure of.
      This is that scripture in NIV, it follows on nicely when read with this background.
      Love and hugs. Lisa xxx 🙂

      God’s Love and Ours
      7 Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God. 8 Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. 9 This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. 10 This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. 11 Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. 12 No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.
      13 This is how we know that we live in him and he in us: He has given us of his Spirit. 14 And we have seen and testify that the Father has sent his Son to be the Saviour of the world. 15 If anyone acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God, God lives in them and they in God. 16 And so we know and rely on the love God has for us.
      God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in them. 17 This is how love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment: In this world we are like Jesus. 18 There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.
      19 We love because he first loved us. 20 Whoever claims to love God yet hates a brother or sister is a liar. For whoever does not love their brother and sister, whom they have seen, cannot love God, whom they have not seen. 21 And he has given us this command: Anyone who loves God must also love their brother and sister.

      • Wow, thank you for sharing all of that background info – that is really illuminating! And it is so helpful for me to refocus on God’s love, especially with how difficult this last week has been and how easy it is to become fearful about the future.

      • Hi Aspergirl Maybe,
        That’s not a problem at all, you are so very welcome.
        I just have to watch I don’t start obsessing on this stuff again…giggle.
        God is ALL about the giving and receiving of love.
        It’s people that make it confusing.
        I hope you have a better week, keeping you in prayer.
        Love, hugs, blessings and peace to you my friend.
        Lisa. xx 🙂

  5. I can very much relate to this but I have learnt over the years to prompt myself when I get negative into trying to think positive. I love you very much and admire you for going on this journey. You are on the right path xxxx

Leave a Reply

