I miss my Nan, so very much.

Hello my lovely bloggy friends,

It’s the 19th of March, it would have been my Nanny’s Birthday today.

I have been feeling down, really down and I would SO love to pop to my Nan’s for Egg and Beans on toast.

Sit with her in the kitchen while she does her word search or her out work…Oh how hard she worked.

She got me because we were SO alike. I would be stuck to my Nanny, right up her back.

It’s a wonder I kept my eye balls with all her knitting and me constantly jumping on her.

She died on March 16th 2005, Just a few months after my Mom.

They were both very special ladies.

My Mom made this world make sense.

My Nan made me make sense.

This is a poem I wrote last July, as I have already said in my earlier post.

I’m a bit stuck for words.

Nan with AJ and CAL

My Nan

by Alienhippy

I was always welcome

Even when I just turned up

She would cook me bacon

Do a word search

And we’d have a cup of tea

Nan with me

She smelt of hairspray and Oil of Olay

With her face powder and lipstick

She never missed a trick

And even though

Others found her hard going

I always left knowing

She loved me

Nan and me

She never said it

But I knew

And as I grew into a women

I was still her special girl

Her pearl

Her first grand-daughter

Me at 12, Nan, Grandad & Great-Gran

I miss sitting in her chair

Playing with her hairpiece

Making apple pies

I miss her smiling eyes

And her knitting

Nan and me

I miss her asking

“Egg on one, beans on the other?”

Me and my Brother

Staying over after Bingo

I miss the dresses she would make

And the time that she would take

To show me

What was hard to do

Because she knew

I was special

My Nan

I miss my Nan

27 thoughts on “I miss my Nan, so very much.

  1. What a sweet poem. Both of my grandmothers are in the 90s and I am afraid that I won’t have the chance to see them again before they die. This makes me want to figure out a way to make the trip so I can hug them at least one more time.

  2. Lisa, I understand your sadness. Today was the funeral of the man that represented a surrogate father too me when my own dad, after divorcing my mom, basically disappeared. I’m feeling sadness today because I was unable to attend due to being a patient of this convalescent hospital. I do know that your Nan is always with you, for she lives forever in your heart.

    • Thank you my friend,
      She was so misunderstood, and had such a giving heart.
      If only people would have taken the time to really get to know her.
      Love and hugs. xx 🙂

  3. Your Nan was a very special person for the short time that I knew her. Yes, she had her moments, but Nan would always be excited and grateful for the family to visit her. She made me feel so welcome and part of the family; there was never a time when she didn’t cook something. She did that because she loved the family and this was an important way for Nan to communicate this to us. She was never one for lots of words but a smile and kiss on the cheek were enough to know that she cared deeply.
    Aust xxxx

  4. I’m kind of late commenting on this lovely post because I am having trouble processing all the emotions and finding words. You and your Nan were a great blessing to each other. I am glad you have such beautiful, happy memories of your Nan’s love for you.

    • Hello my friend,
      I’m always late with comments. I know what you mean, it takes me a while to get my head around commenting on my own blog.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx 🙂

  5. She was a very lovely lady. We always seemed to have a laugh together. I have very fond memories. Love you xxxx

  6. Pingback: How to dress, what to wear? | Alienhippy's Blog

Leave a Reply

