“Books by my bed…giggle, giggle snort!”

Hello my lovely bloggy friends,

I’ve decided to change the title of this meme from “Books by my bed” to,

“Books by my bed… giggle, giggle, snort!”

The lovely Lizbeth over at Four Sea Stars thought it would be fun to tag me for this meme.

She cracks me up, her blog is just SO VERY real. She writes about life and she says it as it is.

I LIKE THAT LOTS

Now about this post…hehehe

I find this SO VERY funny, and I am giggling away here to myself at the thought of writing this, and just how unrelatable I will look to those reading it. It’s a good job I am SO over caring what people think.

Forty one years of trying to fit…what the heck for.

Now I’m trying to learn how to be myself again. What a mixed up world we live in.

So yes I’m laughing my head off about this…why???

First of all, for those who don’t already know, I’m dyslexic it takes me quite an age to read anything.

I only really read what I am going to learn from. You can read about my dyslexia here.

I can write and write and write.

But, when it comes to reading, with most things, I start to swirl.

I read posts by bloggers who I feel I can relate to. This helps me as I learn about myself as I read.

I only have three books at the side of my bed here they are.

Books by my bed

Messy aren’t they…giggle. I could probably do with replacing them.

The red one I have dropped in bath a couple of times too.

Ok…you got me here Lizbeth. I will get you back for this…hehehe πŸ™‚

What you have here is the Bible, the NIV insight Bible, and my prayer journal.

I find these books will help calm me and sometimes will help me go back to sleep.

As an Aspie I have sleep problems.

I tend to get up and write, I find writing will clear my loops most of the time.

Now, as a Dyslexic Aspie, if I want to chill I watch films.

It’s pointless trying to relax with a good book, it’s like a bad joke to me that is. LMHO.

I don’t know the meaning of relaxing and losing myself in a book.

Unless it’s the Bible anyway, that’s the closest I have gotten.

I bet you’re all thinking I’m a right weirdo now aren’t you???

I have a very large DVD collection, but the ones I watch repetitively,

…yes, that’s right I did say that… REPETITIVELY.

I’M AN ASPIE REMEMBER…..Giggle.

We don’t grow out of these things, we just learn to hide who we are REALLY well.

The stories I would LOVE to be able to read, if I could lose myself in a good book are;

  • The Time Machine.
  • War of the worlds.
  • I Am Legend
  • Reign of fire
  • Jason and the Argonauts
  • Clash of the Titans
  • Logan’s Run
  • Avatar

Now if you was to call this post, “Books in the conservatory.”

Here they are.

Books in the conservatory

My conservatory is the room I feel most relaxed in, I have a variety of books on things I am learning.

I find this is the quietest room in my home, so I am able to read small amounts.

I tend to go with my mood and read what I can.

Some poetry books I find relaxing, and I enjoy reading short poems.

I am learning about canal art at the moment, as I do a lot of painting and I have recently been give a whole load of enamel paints.

I do love the canals in my city, and this form of art is sadly disappearing.

The rest are pretty much books on spiritual growth and I use them along side my Bible study.

Here is a photo of what I’m reading at the moment in my conservatory.

My mix of books

Ok….”I’m just being me!”

This is who I am, this is what I read.

Like who I am, or don’t.

I decided to not tag one person but to offer this meme to anyone who would like to do it.

Let me know in my comments, as I am interested in what my friends read.

Love and hugs. xx πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on ““Books by my bed…giggle, giggle snort!”

  1. You focus on what’s most important to you and what helps you, and the rest is extra. I think it’s great what you have at the side of your bed. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Diane,
      Reading is very slow for me so I tend to read what helps me at the time.
      The Bible is the one book that helps me ALL the time.
      Love and hugs. xx πŸ™‚

  2. Lisa–I love what you have by your bed AND conservatory. Such beautiful reading material that is a true reflection of who you are who you are striving to be. Thank you for taking the time out and doing this.

    When this meme came my way I first thought “Oh No.” but then came to realize what’s by your bed is a tiny reflection of who you are. That being said I was sooo curious to see what you were reading. Thanks again for giving me a peek into your world and getting to know you better.

    I like the meme title bettter with a ‘giggle giggle snort’ too!!!

    Hugs–L

    • Hi Lizbeth,
      I had seen this meme floating around and I did think to myself…Oh dear, I’m bound to get one soon!! Giggle. When you told me you had one for me I was hoping it wasn’t this one, but in saying that I totally enjoyed doing it. Also it was about time I stopped hiding this part of who I am. You done me a REALLY big favour my friend. You reminded me of something very important. The first thing I wrote on my blog.
      Alienhippy’s blog…”A place where I can be me!”
      I’m very grateful that you gave me the chance to do this. Thank you.
      You too are a silver lining.
      Love and hugs my friend.
      Lisa. xxx πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad you think that I’m not a right weirdo, it’s just the way this world has made me feel. I’m also glad I’m getting counselling now, and that I have some lovely friends who accept me for just being me.
      I love you too Laura. xxx πŸ™‚

  3. I enjoyed learning more about you reading this, and I love that you get up and write when you have trouble sleeping. Your conservatory sounds lovely, too!

    • Thanks AM, my conservatory is my peaceful place. I have waited so long to get this space but it was well worth the wait. I do my painting out there too. The light is just wonderful.
      I also can play my guitar and sing my heart out and no one can hear me because it is totally double glazed. I sometimes do this at 3am, it is just SO great.
      Love and hugs. xx πŸ™‚

  4. What a wonderful mind you have. I absolutely was obsessed with a TV Series in the 70’s “Logan’s Run. Love you xxxx

  5. It’s good that you are recognising Canal Art too. This is our historical inheritance and shouldn’t be forgotten. Uncle Albert will be impressed. Love you xxxx

Leave a Reply

