Just reminded me

My cat "Garfield"

Hello my lovely bloggy friends

I have just followed a link on facebook to a book called “All Cats have Aspergers Syndrome.”

I really didn’t know there was a book by this title but it interested me because of a post I wrote back at the beginning of September 2010.

I have quite a bit to do today and even though I have a post in mind for my next blog I decided I felt that I wanted to re-share this one. As it helped me put some thought in order today.

***************************************

I guess I AM….. the Crazy-cat-lady!

I have had soooo many cats over my 41 years on this planet I couldn’t possible tell you about all of them, it would make this blog far too long and no-one would bother to read it. So I’m only going to tell you about three of them. The ones that have taught me the most.

I believe that God meets us where we are at. I recently wrote a very emotional poem trying to explain my filtering process. I always think of my titles after God has helped me write the poem and lastly I add an image. I was very unsure about what type of image to use for this poem, so I just Googled the title and there was Sammy.

SAMMY???….. yep, my first cat, in fractal form with his deep piercing eyes.

I was a 4 year old, hyper-active fidget when my Granddad opened up his jacket and pulled out a tiny little ginger fluff ball, who I automatically call “Cinderella!”…lol

Cinderella got shortened to Cindy and after the vet pointed out a couple of things…hehehe

Cindy became Sammy……snip

Sammy was an independent Tom cat. He was constantly sleeping under the pipes in the boiler cupboard and contributed daily his own food by bringing home something lovely for dinner, unfortunately he was only willing to share the heads. (nice)

Mom would throw him out the front door every night, and I would open my bedroom window and call him back in. Where he would spend the night sleeping with me inside my bed next to my Teddy Boo-boo. I had my Sammy cat for 10 years, he was my best friend and knew me better than anyone else. He never judged me, he always listened and he accepted me in whatever mood I was in. He would give me comfort for so long and then bite me to snap me out of being self focussed. He was never bothered by my extreme teenage noise pollution, misunderstood violent outbursts and constant crying. He never told me I was obsessed by my interests…ATARI and nail polish. He just let me be me, and I so needed him because the pressure to conform had taken me into isolation.

When Sammy got killed on the main road outside my family home, I was devastated. I couldn’t eat and I stopped speaking for 2 weeks. Sammy was my first love, he taught me about friendship and self belief, he also was the only hugs I could do. After my complete shut-down, Mom took me to get Kitty.

My Dear Kitty

Mom took me to a pet shop in the City Centre and I carried Kitty home inside my burgundy jacket on the number 12 bus.  She was my little baby. I never done the dolly thing like other girls. I didn’t see the point of dressing and playing with something stiff, unrealistic, that smelt synthetic. I was really struggling at school, I had been put onto a reading development programme, which then caused bullying because it brought attention to my dyslexia. In my one to one SEN-time I would have to read ‘Wind in the Willows’ picture book, I had no interest in toads, badgers and rats especially speaking ones wearing clothes and driving vintage motor cars…I mean how bloody ridiculous.

The other kids were reading “The Diary of Anne Frank,” which sounded far more interesting. This is where Kitty got her name from, I felt I was missing out, so I made my own Dear Kitty, after all I was constantly alone in my very small bedroom.

Kitty was majorly insecure, the pet shop had taken her from her mother far too young and she would suckle on everything, she never grew out of this. She could never cope with being on her own, she would spend all day following our Black Labrador, RAF, around. When he lay down by the fire she lay on top of him. As soon as I came home from school she would follow me to my room where she would stay with me till the next day. She lived a very long life, for a cat, and stayed at my Mom and Dad’s home because when I left  at 18 she hated my flat and spent 6 days hiding in my wardrobe. Seeing her like this broke my heart and I had to grow up and make a very hard decision.

Kitty taught me parenting skills, she taught me to see past myself to others needs, and finally when I took her back to My Mom’s, so she could be with her beloved RAF, she taught me to let go. She was a beautiful Black and white soul who died peacefully under the Apple tree in my Mom and Dad’s front garden at 16 human years of age.

Right, now we jump forward 20 years…with lots of cats in between, lot of strays that have come and gone and we get to Holly

“Holly, Holly, Hollyyyyyyy!!!”

Holly is my disabled cat, she is deaf and partially sighted. She is a mix of white/tan/black long haired fluff. She doesn’t like being touched because she never knows where the touch is coming from, to groom her I have to spend time crawling around on the floor allowing her to sniff me and come to me. She never leaves my garden because she knows she is safe here, after all with my massive Rottweiler and CAL’s best friend ‘ROCK’ to look out for every member of the Alienhippy home who wouldn’t feel safe !….That’s a joke, he is the most stupid, sloppy, dope and would just get excited by having new visitors….lol

Anyway…. Holly.

When I feed all my other cats I have to make sure she is catered for because she cannot fend for herself. If she is not in her basket or the cat kennel I have to find her, she can’t hear me calling so I physically have to walk around looking for her. She won’t come running at the sound of cat food. She is very demanding at meal times, and will scream at me for her food, she cannot hear how loud she is, but believe me it is ear-piercing, it hurts my head sometimes. She does not cope with the other cats and isolates herself away from even her own daughter. When she walks around the garden she relies on her sense of smell, this means she has to constantly flick her head left and right in an erratic way. The neighbours who have seen her doing this have told me to have her put to sleep. I think because they think she is defective –  but she is NOT, she is just a little unique and I love that about her. She has found her way and I see how hard it is for her, compared to my other cats. She does everything required to be a cat. She just does it differently to the rest. She is happy and content and she knows she is loved and accepted. This is what makes the other cats move out of her way.

She is the Queen of my garden!

Holly has taught me this very valuable lesson;

If I can do all this for her!

If I can see this in her!

If I can believe and stand against people’s opinions for her!

Then I can do all this for my kids and myself too.

Like I said at the beginning, I believe that God meets us where we are at….even if we think cat.

I will have to look to ASLAN…….I guess I AM the crazy-cat-lady after all, and I love that about me.

 

image from Google

 


23 thoughts on “Just reminded me

  1. My first pet was a black cat. I named her Natasha, after the Russian Spy in the Rocky & Bullwinkle Show. (did you guys get that show over there?) Anyway, I got her when I was in the 6th grade, and she stayed with me until shortly after Coleman was born almost 20 years later. She was a good cat. My mom used to put her in the basement at night, and I would sneak down and get her so she would sleep with me at night. 🙂

    Great post, Lisa.

    • Hello my friend,
      No we didn’t get the show but I have seen the film. Natasha is such a great name for a cat.
      So you used to sneak your cat in too, I think we would have got on great as kids.
      We seem so alike, you could have helped me with my home work Laura.
      You probably would have done a better job of teaching me to read as well.
      Giggle…can you see the visual, cute ain’t we. LOL
      Love you. xxx 🙂

  2. My first cat was called Heidi but I was allergic to her so we had to get rid of her 😦

    BTW….that book is awesome. It’s just a kid’s picture book. You’d LOVE it!

    • awwww i think i would try and cope with it anyway .
      A neighbor of my sisters had a small dog given to them by someone who was moving to a place that wouldn’t take dogs .
      the dog ended up being tied outside all the time in the rain or sun what ever the weather .he had a terrible skin condition and scratched all the time ,What a shame ,then eventually it got run over by them ,wether it was on purpose or accidently .what a way for an animal to die ,i wouldn’t move to a place that wouldn’t except my animal .i would keep looking until i did .Maybe they didn’t really love the dog in the first place

      blessings
      Eileen

      ps nice reading your comments on Lisa’s blog

    • Hello my lovely Fi,
      Your allergies are a pain aren’t they. But it’s not worth making yourself ill and I’m sure your Mom and Dad found Heidi somewhere nice to live. I found a link to that book being read on video. You are totally right I do love it, you know me so very well.
      Love you and everything about you.
      Leesy. xxxx

  3. we had cats at home while i was growing up ,but our very own first pet was a cat named Poodles .He lived to be 18 .At that age he developed a tumor on his face and saddly we had to get him put down .One of his things to do was ,bite people on their big toe unexpectedly lol .He was special to us for sure .Our next pet was a Chihuahua named Chippy ,she was named that by our 3-4 yr old daughted Lisa .She used to chase german Shepards out of the yard with no trouble at all .She was fiesty and we loved her too .she was with us for 13yrs ,then passed away with heart failure .Then as a teen Lisa got her cat named Boo Boo which became ours after awhile .We liked how he would lay flat on his back on the floor with his white belly in the air.he did so many cute things too numerous to mention but we have pics to show for it . We had him for 12yrs then had to get him put down due to a mass in his abdomen .That was a very sad day for us especially our son Andrew who loved him dearly .Then we got another Chihuahua ,which Leonard named Sandy.She was the one we couldn’t trust especially around children .A matter of fact adults too as she would go up to them and bite them .especially on their fingers while she barked furiously at them.They would try to pat her and say how cute she was .Not our fault at all .Why touch a barking and growling dog lol .We could have been sued many times but luckly it didn’t happen .we loved her just the same . She also passed away do to heart failure a sad day for sure We now have our 3rd Chihuahua Nickie which is 9yrs .She is kind to people if it suits her lol .Once she knows them she lets them pat her and rub her belly .She protects us from that mean mailman lol lol

    great post lisa
    blessings
    Eileen

    h leonard named Sandy

  4. I love that–God meets where we’re at–so true. I had two cats and both showed up right when I needed them most. I didn’t know it at the time…I think they taught me more than any one person and for that I will forever be a cat lady!

    • Hello Lizbeth,
      We learn so much from everything we do. None of us realise at the time but after we see just how it all works, the bigger picture.
      I wrote a poem once about time travel. When I started writing the poem I was thinking about how I could change things. By the time I got to the end, I realised that if I changed anything I would change everything. I’m not sure I would like that.
      Does this make sense??
      Here is the link to that poem, I think you’ll like it.
      https://alienhippy.wordpress.com/2010/12/28/poem-looking-forward-not-back/
      Love and hugs. xx 🙂

  5. Hi Lisa,
    Your “very valuable lesson” is something I will try to apply to myself too.
    I love and accept my animals so much even in spite of their “shortcomings” or idiosyncrasies,
    and yet I have trouble treating myself as generously as I treat my animals!
    Thanks for this reminder to be kind to myself as well! 🙂
    Love and hugs,
    Bruce 🙂

    • Hello my friend Bruce,
      I think we are very hard on ourselves. It has helped me reading your comment because I don’t give myself the grace that I give to others. Animals are part of this for us because they are easier for us to understand. They don’t deceive and their body language and vocal communication is obvious.
      Me and you Bruce both need to be kinder to ourselves.
      I’ll pray for you, you pray for me. 🙂
      Love and hugs my friend. xxx 🙂

  6. I love how you see the differences in your Holly as differences and not defects.

    I have three kitties of my own, and each has a unique personality. The older cat, Charlene, is 17 now and not a fan of fast-moving children. She sleeps in my room. The younger two are 8-year-old sisters that we got especially as pets for the boys. Minnie is very social and and active and quite demanding about eating, and Daisy is totally sedentary and hides whenever company comes unless she is very used to them. They have both bonded closely with our boys and will put up with a great deal from them.

    When my youngest was a baby, I looked into the next room one day to find him holding on with all his might to a fist full of the fur on top of Minnie’s head. She didn’t meow or hiss or even struggle in any way. She just seemed to know that this was a baby and that she’d have to wait until he let go or someone rescued her ( which I did right away). She did have a chance to get even years later, though. When my youngest got tall enough that his head just reached the counters, she would lay on top and wait for him to pass by, and then she’d reach out and quickly Whap! him on the head with her paw. I couldn’t really blame her. 🙂

    • Giggle….thank you Diane for sharing your cat story, it really made me smile and gave me a wonderful visual.
      Kids and pets are funny aren’t they?!
      My Rottweiler will run to my *CAL when the electric goes off and the lights go out. It’s like he knows to protect her and comfort her. She is terrified of the dark, and he is a monstrous size but so very gently when it comes to my *CAL.
      Love and hugs. xx 🙂

  7. As you know I love cats and have very fond memories of Sammy and Kitty. Kitty used to follow me to the bus stop and try and get on the bus with me. Cats all have their own unique nature. Love you xxxx

    • Thank you Auntie Linda,
      Kitty was funny like that she’d follow everyone she just couldn’t cope with being on her own. Sammy used to follow Grandad Charlie all the way back to the bungalow. I remember him once following me to school and sitting up an oak tree, he was still there when I had morning playtime. That was nice for me to see my cat from the playground.
      Love you. xxx 🙂

  8. Yes. I see the connection in our animal loving. I had 13 cats at one time. Two Mama cats each had a litter of 5 each, and we had one other adult cat. I used to put them under my covers and let them crawl all over me. One day they were all gone but one. My mom said: “I found good homes for all of them.” I was in my 30’s before I processed what that really meant.

    I loved your story, your sharing, and honesty. Like me, you have a pure spirit and innocence to your writing, that I believe is a true gift. Great to have connected. I’ll keep your first Kitty close to my heart!

    • Hi, I have had so many cats, I have bred rabbits, guinea pigs, birds.
      We have had tree frogs, chickens and ducks. I LOVE my dogs.
      We too had two cats have litters at the same time. I loved seeing how they looked after and fed each other’s kittens. My son bred mice for quite a while too and we 57 at one point.
      He was in the National Mouse Association and won first in pets with a Grey Rex. He was about 11 at the time it really helped him. He was so proud of himself. I have a lovely photo of him with a mouse on his head. He seemed to always have one in his pocket too. 🙂
      We do seem to be very alike in our Aspie ways.
      I look forward to getting to know you better.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx 🙂

  9. Pingback: I know it’s not Wordless Wednesday…but! « Alienhippy's Blog

Leave a Reply

