It’s ALL in my mind you know!!

Hello my lovely bloggy friends,

Be warned…. this Mommy is well and truly ticked off.

My kids deserve better, and I will no-longer be a door mat.

Today I spent time thinking how rude and ignorant people can be.

I try SO hard to give all people the benefit of the doubt.

But today I realised that a certain group of people will always be the way they are.

For the past 13 years they have never accepted the way my precious *AJ is.

Today, my little *CAL was totally ignored for two and a half hours.

I was spoken over, ignored and made to feel attacked and ridiculous.

Because, let’s face it… ASD is not real is it???….pfft.

So as hard as I have tried to understand these people and as much as I would love for them to accept me and my kids.

I have to do what is best for my kids.

To be ignored for that length of time in a room of eight people, to me, is not a healthy environment for any child.

A child on the Spectrum who struggles with social interaction and a lack of confidence is going to be even more damaged by this.

I had to make a hard decision, but I feel the right one.

Now let me just show you how AMAZING my little *CAL is!!!!

We went to fetch a new carpet from a carpet ware house. We also wanted to look at new beds.

The beds were displayed on a first floor balcony.

My *CAL has a terrible fear of heights.

Also, with her dyspraxia her gross motor skills, and problems with balance, cause her to have to come down stairs leading with one foot.

I managed to get her up the stairs by focussing on the wall, I hadn’t really thought how I was going to get her back down.

This is what she saw from the top…!!!

Silly, silly Mommy.

This is how she reacted…!!!

Cling very tightly to Daddy, having a panic attack.

After a lot of talking and explaining that Mommy would be right on the side of her and Daddy in front.

She finally managed to get down the stairs.

She was SO excited that she managed to do this, we just had to do it ALL OVER again.

Mr Locoman and me…. just watched and waited for the novelty to wear off.

Look at my girl, fighting her fear!!

Just how proud is this Mommy.

Now look at how proud my little *CAL is!

At 10 years of age she can come down these stairs on her own.

It’s ALL in my mind you know!!

26 thoughts on “It’s ALL in my mind you know!!

  1. Yeah!!! Way to go *CAL!!! That is awesome! I was afraid my Sketch would be afraid of the rain again, after going all winter w/o having to deal with it. But on vacation, it rained ALL day, and he did AWESOME! He was actually the best behaved kiddo!

  2. What a great accomplishment she made in just a few minutes .With you and your husband by her side at first .then on her own . WOW.
    I think i would not go back to that group again .More harm than good
    was probably done .Some people are rude ,but do they realize it though,that’s what i wonder .Very inconsiderate on their part .
    Blessings
    Eileen

  3. Such a great accomplishment for her – way to go *CAL!

    And I’m with you 100% on not continuing to spend time with people who don’t respect you.

  4. “Yeeee-hah!” as us ‘cowboys’ in Colorado would say. πŸ™‚ I’m so proud of her for you! Wonderful! I’ve really missed reading your writing; school has been so insane this semester I can hardly find my ….. Ah, well, you get the picture. πŸ˜‰ What good parents you two are, to be able to gently coach and assist your daughter in this victory. It takes the right words, actions, and etc to help someone feel comfortable – let alone grow. Awesome! ❀

    • Thank you Daleth,
      I hope school calms down for you,you have so much to do already.
      She did really well, our kids are constantly amazing us with their will to learn.
      Love and hugs. xx πŸ™‚

  5. What a brave girl! She should be proud of herself.

    As for the other matter: the instruction to turn the other cheek does not require us to present that cheek for a regular slapping. You have a duty of care to your children and you are right not to put them in a situation that harms them, physical or psychological.

    I see where *CAL gets her bravery from πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Tilly,
      I needed to read that!
      I’m now learning not to keep going back and getting the same slapping.
      I think I can safely say that my Mommy instinct here is pretty strong.
      I will NOT allow my daughter to be treated in this way.
      I see the damage it has done to me.
      Love and hugs my friend. xx πŸ™‚

  6. Can you see my big smile from there?!? Way to go *Cal!!! She looks so proud!
    Now on to the nasty people. Sometimes people just suck. Best to sweep them into the rubbish bin of your mind and move on. I know, I know, easier said than done, right? It totally sucks to be excluded and to see it done to your kids is a real gut-kicker. There is very little I can do except send you hugs and more hugs—L

  7. Yeah Cal!!! I agree, do not go back to that group! An old friend and I were talking this weekend about toxic places and toxic people. Those people sound toxic to me no doubt about it. Forgive them and then forget them completely!

  8. I’m sorry not everyone sees your kids as they are or treats them the way they deserve. People who aren’t willing to do better don’t deserve your time, and they aren’t a healthy influence.

    Your daughter is such a brave young lady! I very much understand about having a genuine fear of heights, and as I’ve recently also started having issues with balance and focus, I am very impressed with *CAL facing up to such a challenge and doing so well. She deserves to be proud of herself.

    • Thank you Diane,
      *CAL has had this fear since being a little tiny baby.
      I used to take young *AJ to the Wacky Warehouse and I’d take baby *CAL in with us. She was fine on the lower level and played quite happily in the ball pool. But as soon as we went up a level she would start to scream and cling so tight. So her coming down those stairs when they were so open. Also there were rolled rugs on the stairs….it was a real achievement for her.
      Thank you for sharing about your fear too, I hope your balance and focus gets better. I will pray about this for you.
      Love, hugs, blessing and peace to you.
      Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

  9. This is a wonderful achievement for CAL. She looks so proud. As far as people ignoring my Family, I can do nothing about other peoples behaviour and unfortunately when people do not understand something they tend to pretend it isn’t happening and ignore the situation. Try to put this down to ignorance and keep going with the coping strategies. I am extremely proud of CAL. To conquer a fear like this is a big achievement for her. Love you all loads xxxx

Leave a Reply

