A day with photos

Hello my lovely bloggy friends

Today was the first day of a week off school…YAY!!!

I find life so much easier when I can plan my own Aspie brain and do things at my own pace.

So, I just LOVE the school holidays

My Aspie kids both function so much better without the mental strain and over stimulation of the social atmosphere of school environment.

*CAL got herself up, washed and dressed. She got her own breakfast and organised her own activities for the morning.

She even remembered we had plans for the afternoon.

I will just explain the difference

On a school day she is shutdown most mornings and so drained from the day before. I have to tell her what to do one thing at a time.

She has picture lists everywhere in our home to prompt her memory. So she can manage to do the normal everyday things.

Our plan for our afternoon

We had planned to go to McDonalds for lunch and then go and buy fish food for Jack and Roger (*CAL’s pet Goldfish) from the local pet store. Also we needed to pick up a few things from a local shop.

When we got to our local McDonalds it was totally packed.

The queue for the drive thru was even worse. I didn’t fancy it one bit, so I knew my *CAL would not cope well.

First of all she only really likes to sit at one particular table.

Secondly there were a lot of kids her age in groups and with this she will always hide.

I sat and chatted with her in the car

She said she didn’t fancy the noise so I made a decision to drive further out towards a different district. I knew this would be strange for her but I felt it would be easier on her sensory. Plus there is an aquatic centre near to it and this McDonalds has beenΒ  newly refurbished. There are also a few shops where I could get the things I needed .

She loved the new McDonalds, WHY???

It was FUNKY and very colourful.

After walking around with a tray full of food a few times she picked this table.

(Sorry for the quality of the photos, I used my mobile, I didn’t have my camera)

We then popped to a few shops. *CAL decided she quite liked the idea of keeping a journal. She picked this one and a pack of multi coloured gel pens. She said she could use which colour suited her mood. I thought this was such a clever idea.

New hat and gloves, she has always had a thing about hats, right since she was a little toddler.

Then we went and had a look at new carpet, we need new carpet EVERYWHERE….ugh

The building work we had done and the constant traffic of builders boots caused quite a few marks.

*CAL really likes this red carpet, I get the feeling her room is going to be brighter than McDonalds.

I just love going to the Aquatic centre, I find the whole atmosphere very relaxing and could spend all day there looking at the different kinds of fish. After doing the shopping it was so wonderful to relax my brain in this environment. The sound of the water and the gracefulness of the fishes swimming just calms ALL of my loops right down.

Emperor Angelfish (Pomacanthus imperator)

Common Clownfish (Amphiprion ocellaris)

Lionfish (Pterois volitans)

*CAL LOVES the pond fish, and this indoor pond fascinated here. She played quite happily with this plastic duck getting the Koi Carp and Sturgeon to come up to the top. Some of these fish where massive.

So that has been our afternoon.

The great thing is while I was chatting fishes with one of the assistants he mentioned that the Aquatic centre has not long opened a sister branch within a development. He gave me the details, it’s not far out and it’s perfect for a cheap day trip. Just read how perfect it is for the Alienhippy. There is even something for Mr Locoman.

Within our superb development, stretching over 20 acres and incorporating 90,000 square feet under cover, is one of the largest garden centres in the UK, a vast aquatic area, pet shop, shopping arcade, cafe and miniature railway – there really is something for everyone!

Doesn’t that sound just perfect!

I can’t wait to go….hehe

20 thoughts on “A day with photos

  1. That certainly DOES sound perfect!

    I’m so pleased you had a wonderful day.

    Is *CAL planning on getting wallpaper like the one in McDonalds for her room? LOL

    • Hello my lovely Fi,
      It was a lovely day, I REALLY hope not with the wall paper,
      can you just imagine it Fi…please, with red carpet and sonic the hedge hog posters.
      I love you so much.
      Leesy. xxxx

    • Hi Bruce,
      I’m so glad you enjoy watching the Kuroshio sea aquarium video.
      When I first found it I was in awe of how beautiful it is myself.
      I just love the aquatic centre, I find it so relaxing. I suppose as well I feel more comfortable speaking to people there because they have a similar interest.
      Love and hugs my friend.
      Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

  2. WOW – I want a McDonalds decorated like that one! It looks awesome! Glad you had a great day. And enjoy the rest of this week my friend! I guess this must be half-term…but wait, how can it be half-term already?? πŸ˜‰ lol

    Chloe xx

    • Hello Chloe my friend,
      Yes….that McDonalds was so very bright, it had a rainbow wall by the counter.
      Lime green and brown chairs and big purple flowers EVERYWHERE.
      It was definitely worth the extra driving and *CAL totally loved it.
      Love, hugs and {{{munchies}}} to you and little Stormy. xx πŸ™‚

  3. What a nice day – ours has been fraught with difficulty over a school talent show and mom trying to help son and hubby work together on this. I just don’t have the creativity needed to make it work, but I also can’t figure out how to help them communicate clearly to each other. I feel like my brain is going to explode, and I feel like a complete failure.

    Sorry to be so down on your blog – I appreciate this post because it reminds me that there are also lovely days with good things in them, and I’m hoping to have one of those soon.

    • Awww, sorry you had a bad day Aspergirl Maybe.
      It is always good to remember the good days, they get us through the bad ones.
      You’re not a complete failure, we all have days when we feel like that.
      The way I see it, if we were complete failures we’d be walking around oblivious to it.
      Hope things get better soon.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

  4. I would so much love to go to that aquarium right now!!! I need a calm place πŸ™‚ We are in what they call February Break here in New England (well, it may be just a Maine thing, not sure)… 1 week off of school. I can’t wait for my kids to be old enough to appreciate it. Right now, they (esp Sketch) just want to be in their normal routine and go to school. Plus, being outnumbered, I don’t dare leave the house alone–I’m sure I’d have at least one of the kids running away!!! So for now, we just try to survive with all 3 kids alive and accounted for…and 2 parents + baby-to-be with enough energy to get to bed themselves!!

    • Merri you made me feel exhausted just reading that.
      I remember when *AJ was younger I used to child mind.
      A few times I had 5 kids on some days, I fell in to my bed on those nights.
      I took them all to the Safari park on a day trip once, it was fine driving around the animals but after when we got out of the car I suddenly realised how hard it was going to be.
      *Yas was 5, *AJ was 3-4, *JK and *Eth were 12 months and *Tam was about 5 months.
      I kept the 2 toddlers in the double buggy, the 2 walkers on wrist restraints and *Tam was strapped to my back…I had so much energy in my 20’s….LOL
      Love and hugs my friend.
      Lisa. xx πŸ™‚

  5. Sounds like an absolutely lovely day. I’m feeling a bit envious. πŸ™‚

    The Aquatic Centre sounds so peaceful – I think I would enjoy the quiet of living under water.

    Thanks for sharing your day and your wonderful pictures.

Leave a Reply

