Coping…finding new ways forward.

Hello my lovely bloggy friends

.

Over the last few days I have been feelingย  really down and not able to filter why I was feeling the way I was feeling. I spoke to both my hubby and my closest friend about this as the coping strategies I have in place didn’t seem to shift how I was feeling.

.

No amount of ABBA was getting rid of this dark cloud.

I wrote a few extremely emotional poems, that I could only share with my nearest and dearest.

Sorry folks, I have to keep some things private.

This helped me to get an understanding of just what it was that was bothering me.

I hadn’t got a clue to start with, I had so many loops all saying negative things.

How I got through it

I can’t really go into detail about this, but I will share how I got through it. As I am quite impressed that this has only taken a few days, now that I am gaining an understanding of my Aspie ways. I have been stuck in these depressive pits for months in the past. Isolating myself away from everyone and totally unable to communicate.

So this is how it went

This is what worked for me this time. We are all different and that’s great, having a strategy for the next time this happens is only going to help. My blog is the best place to keep this, because I will find it here. Also me sharing this may help someone who is reading it.

First I prayed about how I was feeling, I did this by writing my prayer down as writing helps me to focus.

Then I read my Bible, the word of God is a real comfort to me and helps me through life.

I wrote out how I was feeling in free style poetry and gave this poem to my closest friend. I know she prays for me. Having a friend who prays for you , in my opinion, is the greatest gift a friend can ever give you. She also accepts me just as I am, never judges me and I can be myself 100% with her. I consider myself very blessed to have such a friend and I thank God for her every day.

Once I had gone into shutdown

I found it extremely hard to communicate. I found it almost impossible to find things to talk about. So I just stopped talking. In the past this is the time I usually sit staring and listening to my negative loops.

This time I chose to start creating.

I made fractals then I went onto painting. I also pushed myself to be totally open with the two people in my life I can share this with. I haven’t done this in the past, I have internalised it and beat myself up about not being able to express my views, or for just being the way I am.

I don’t do this anymore, I write it out and share it…If that doesn’t work then I paint.

While painting, “Inside the Fish”

I was able to focus and enjoy the relaxation I get from painting abstract. I usually listen to music while painting, but within this time I needed the quiet to figure out and pray for a way forward.

So there you have it

I’m back…I have words again.

I am not sitting in my pit.

Not quite back at my Aspie-happy yet, but I know what the problem is now, and together with God, we are finding ways forward.

Give me a few more days, and a few more prayers and I will be able to say…

Hey bloggy friend, ” I turned it upside down!”

Love and hugs. xx ๐Ÿ™‚

21 thoughts on “Coping…finding new ways forward.

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ Hello my lovely Fi ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m just listening to a bit of Buble, while catching up with comments.
      I’m multi tasking, aren’t I clever…giggle
      I’m having to keep double checking my spelling though.
      Love you SO much.
      Leesy. xxxx

  1. Hi Lisa – sorry to hear you’ve been feeling so down lately.

    I think it’s wonderful, however, that you are finding new ways of coping with what life throws at you. Your praying, singing and painting sound like awesome ways of focussing your emotions and searching for answers.

    Thinking of you my friend,
    Love
    Chloe xx

    • Hello Chloe my friend,
      I feel like I’m always looking for new ways to press forward.
      I have noticed though that my blog and releasing my emotions help so much.
      Thank you so much for being a friend Chloe.
      Love you loads.
      Lisa. xxx ๐Ÿ™‚ {{{munch}}} for Stormy

  2. So glad to hear you are feeling better. So glad you decided to reach out instead of just climbing inward. You’re an inspiration and a gift to the rest of us. Keep taking care of yourself.

    Love,

    Diane

    • Thank you Diane,
      Yes, it’s very true. Reaching out instead of climbing inward makes a lot of difference.
      I will keep talking care of myself, I am precious to our Heavenly Father. If I keep telling myself that then all that negative from my past will stop telling me the lies.
      Love, hugs, blessings and peace to you.
      Lisa. xx ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Very true, also I don’t think I’d learn much about myself and how to grow as an individual.
      Thank you for your insight, it is very helpful.
      Welcome to my blog.
      Love and hugs.
      Lisa. xx ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: Oldies are the besties | Alienhippy's Blog

Leave a Reply

