Thoughts on an old post (Shopping)

Hello my bloggy friends!

I decided today to have a look back at my first attempts at blogging. They are not a pretty sight people….but they did make me giggle.

With my Aspie need to feed I got hooked on figuring this whole blog thing out. So the quality of my first lot of posts is Errrmmmm.

We will leave it at Errrrmmm!!!

I came across this post though and I like it. I remember coming home from Aldi and wanting to share my thoughts. I didn’t start a blog thinking someone might read it, I started a blog by complete accident. I will share that story another time.

Let’s just say, “Oh the joy of dyslexia!”

If I could have read what I was doing, I wouldn’t have a blog.

Everyone knows how much I hate supermarkets, but when I wrote this post I hadn’t got a clue to why I hated them so much. I didn’t understand about my own Aspie quirks because I had no one to talk to, I was hiding from everyone and suffering with what I thought was depression. I was in my bubble and I had shut down. So here is an old post from 5th June, 2010.

Shopping Trolley Dolly

Shopping

I found myself today at the supermarket check-out, with a completely full trolley load. You know the sort I mean, when you look at it and think to yourself, “I hope this doesn’t push me over my overdraft.”

As I was unloading my groceries onto the conveyor belt, I happened to look up and notice the young student behind me. She had a few things in her arms; a packet of pasta, jar of mayonnaise, a tin of something and a container of milk. Is it the only thing that students cook, pasta with mayonnaise?

Anyway….. I realised at that point, with a knock me down clarity. I am now the middle-age woman with a trolley full of groceries that all light-weight shoppers hate.

I told the young woman to jump in front of me, and then a young man with his pasta and mayonnaise.

(Obviously this supermarket is next to the university and is full of students at the weekend.)

While I carried on unloading. They both thanked me, so I smiled and said to them,

“No worries, I know how annoying it is to be stuck behind a middle-age woman with a trolley full. Make sure you do the same in twenty years time, ah?”  They both nervously giggled.

As I drove home I thought of the picture, emotion, humour and even the fear.

As in twenty years time they will be there with their trolleys loaded, and I will be one of the light weight shoppers again.

Hopefully not pulling a tartan two wheeled trolley,

but maybe a funky psychedelic three wheeler…lol

15 thoughts on “Thoughts on an old post (Shopping)

  1. I got a nice laugh 🙂 from this post, Lisa!

    Thinking of you with a funky psychedelic three wheeler, 🙂
    maybe I will trade my Mustang on one of those three wheelers and we could race round the supermarket!
    🙂

    Cheers!
    Bruce 🙂

  2. I loved this! It is such a great snapshot of that experience. 🙂

    BTW, I have moved my blog to WordPress and wanted to let you know. Thanks!

    • Hi Aspergirl Maybe,
      Thanks for the comment, it’s one of those moments that you just put to memory.
      I’m glad you enjoyed reading it. I will come over and see you soon, I get quite behind with my reading. I am such a slow reader, but i will get there eventually.
      Love and hugs. xx 🙂

Leave a Reply

