I’ve been reminded…What happened to my Shirley?

I’ve been reminded…What happened to my Shirley?

Today I was reminded of a post I did back in September.

“What happened to my Shirley?”

As a child I was extremely…..Emmmm, hehe.

Let’s call it dramatic shall we…lol

Let’s just say my kids love dressing up for a reason….they get that from me.

Not that I make a big thing of clothing I’m quite the opposite actually. But…as a child I loved dressing up and performing.

Oh yes…I will mention now before I forget!

Both *AJ’s and *CAL’s Elf costumes have arrived for our trip on Saturday. *AJ has come down poorly today so I’m hoping he will be well enough for our trip on the Santa express. We are all looking forward to it, and they have their outfits now. It will be such a shame to miss it, we go every year.

Anyway…back to my Shirley!

I had somehow forgotten about Little Lisa, the little girl who loves to sing and dance. I have been thinking too much about my Aspergers and how it stops me from doing things. I have been misleading myself, it’s not my Aspergers that stops me, it’s just me that stops me. I worry too much about what people think. I have somehow slipped back into conformity. I have been focussing far too much on what it means to be an Aspie and forgetting to enjoy being the person I am created to be. Well I was quite shocked to realise this and I had noticed that I seemed to have lost something.

I couldn’t find my Aspie-happy anywhere!

I have been praying so hard about this and then I realised, or more to the point God told me off.

I have already figured out most of my own coping strategies.

Ok…I don’t know the long words that describe the things I go through.

But…at the end of the day, does it really matter, I think not!

I know what I can and can’t do, I have found or will find ways to achieve anything I put my mind to.

I have Dyslexia and Aspergers Syndrome, which means I’m a little different.

Different is good if you think positively about it.

Today I asked myself, one simple question.

Who am I?

I answered myself with a song….I am what I am!

AND…I need to remember, I’m just being me!

I know God wants me to remember this…..

I am fearfully and wonderfully made, perfect just as He created. When I’m sad he wipes away my tears because His love can reach any distance. He knows how I really feel, and when my heart is heavy. He will stay by my side until I feel strong again. He knows who I really am, that cheerful happy little girl. He also knows how deeply I feel things. God stops me from feeling the aloneness of being me because He never leaves. So even when I go into my bubble I can’t hide, He sees all and knows all. I just need to accept His love and His acceptance of me, just as I am. Nothing I go through, nothing I feel is too big for Him.

So…I can put back on my colours and claim back my Shirley, because He made me to be me.

This is the Poem that I wrote back in September and a video of another Shirley favourite.

What happened to my Shirley?

by Lisa Lock

I was as quiet as a mouse outside of the house

But inside I was Shirley Bassey

It must have worried my folks, the jokes

About their eccentric lassie.

.

Alas time goes on, my Dame Bassey has gone

Judy Garland arrived for a while

She wasn’t quite the same, as my Shirley Fame

But her show still gave me a smile

.

Well now I look on, not to times that have gone

And I’ll smile at that little me

Alive in my song, no feelings of wrong

Just excited, transcended and free.

12 thoughts on “I’ve been reminded…What happened to my Shirley?

  1. You are one of the lucky ones – so many people don’t know themselves until it’s too late. Conformity is over-rated – respect others, yes; but not at the expense of squashing who you are.

    I hope everyone is okay for the trip. Will the snow cancel it?

    • Hi Tilly,
      I am behind still with my comments, and you know what our weather is like here.
      Just have a look at my latest post and you will see the performance we had.
      The Trains were still working though. Love and hugs. xx 🙂

  2. Yes, you are what you are! And that’s wonderful! One of God’s very precious creations! 🙂
    Wishing *AJ a speedy recovery. Hope you all have a great outing on the Santa Express.

  3. Pingback: Walking by the Light of Lisa’s Lantern « Born 2b me

  4. Pingback: Seeking my inner Shirley…I am what I am! « Alienhippy's Blog

Leave a Reply

