What happened to my Shirley?

What happened to my Shirley?

As I was driving home yesterday from CAL’s piano lesson, we were listening to some dodgy radio station (which I happen to love actually) here in England. I have an eclectic taste in music (yes I know what eclectic means….thank you) and this radio station, as much as *Mr Locoman hates it, fills that need.

An old song came onto the radio as we flew, rather speedily, over the hump in the country road and I shout my usual, “HOLD ONTO YOUR KNICKERS CAL!” She giggles and holds her belly, as she is used to her Mom’s madness.

This song projected me into a flash-back, myself at around 5 years of age. I then sang this song full pelt with my girl in the car reminded of the time when I was allowed to be me. Before the pressure to conform, and before understanding kicked in. That’s why I love to drive my little car because it is my little bubble and I feel me in there.

Anyway…. later on as usual I wrote a poem about my thoughts.

What happened to my Shirley?

by Lisa Lock

I was as quiet as a mouse outside of the house

But inside I was Shirley Bassey

It must have worried my folks, the jokes

About their eccentric lassie.

.

Alas time goes on, my Dame Bassey has gone

Judy Garland arrived for a while

She wasn’t quite the same, as my Shirley Fame

But her show still gave me a smile

.

Well now I look on, not to times that have gone

And I’ll smile at that little me

Alive in my song, no feelings of wrong

Just excited, transcended and free.

Yes …I can totally understand why I was discouraged from imitating Shirley Bassey now.

But I can’t help but wonder about these things, you know!

RRLMHO

15 thoughts on “What happened to my Shirley?

  1. Shirley Bassey was not an artist I was familar with here in the States…but she looks like she was pretty dynamic in her approach to music….I suspect there were worse folks to model after. 🙂 Enjoyed your poem as most often I do.

    • No I’m not kidding, I used to think I WAS Shirley Bassey….lol
      My Granddad loved her and she had a show of her own here when I was a kid.
      My Nan and Granddad were fascinated by my moves…..lmho
      Love you. xxxx

  2. Fantastic blog! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the information are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!

  3. Pingback: How this world’s ways can confuse my brain! « Alienhippy's Blog

  4. Pingback: I’ve been reminded…What happened to my Shirley? « Alienhippy's Blog

  5. Pingback: The Alien before the Alienhippy « Alienhippy's Blog

  6. Pingback: “I’m waiting to find out!” « Alienhippy's Blog

  7. Pingback: Imaginary friendships and Dyslexic-Aspie escape « Alienhippy's Blog

Leave a Reply

