NEW Inspiration…….Do Schools Kill Creativity?

NEW Inspiration…….Do Schools Kill Creativity?

My post yesterday was a poem basically saying I haven’t got a clue what to blog…. So let me just go away and get some inspiration from the Lord! Then I found a wonderful Christian worship song and added that. I also prayed that God would guide and lead me to NEW inspiration and as my poem said I WAITED to LEARN.

Last night when I sat down to read any comments I might have, I found a video added by my very lovely blog friend Mr. William Lawson. I felt very special that he had taken the time to get to know me, through my blog, and then took the time also to share this brilliant video with me.

Because this video is 20 minutes long I am going to watch it noting the parts that have spoken to me. However I will say if you can find the time it is definitely worth watching.

This is a very touchy subject for me as my creativity has been kept in a box, sealed and hidden most of my life, and this has had a detrimental effect on my self-worth.

DO SCHOOLS KILL CREATIVITY? I type and take a deep breathe through my teeth.

Breath out….stop procrastinating and click the play button Lisa!!!

Sir Ken Robinson says at minute;

3:05 “All kids have tremendous talents and we squander them, pretty ruthlessly. So I want to talk about education and I want to talk about creativity. My contention is that creativity is now as important in education as literacy, and we should treat it with the same status.”

5:35 “Kids will take a chance, if they don’t know, they’ll have a go. Am I right? They are not frightened of being wrong. What we do know is that if you’re not prepared to be wrong, you’ll never come up with anything original.”

6:00 “We stigmatise mistakes”

6:15 We are educating people out of their creative capacities. Picasso once said this, he said, “All children are born artists, the problem is to remain an artist as we grow up.” I believe this passionately we don’t grow into creativity we grow out of it. Or rather we get educated out of it.

8:42 Every education system on earth has the same hierarchy of subjects. At the top are Mathematics and languages then the humanities and then at the bottom are the arts

11:35 The most useful subjects for work are at the top.

15:00-17:45 I WANT TO ASK THOSE WHO HAVE KIDS ON THE SPECTRUM TO JUST WATCH THESE LAST FEW MINUTES PLEASE. I THINK YOU WILL FIND THEM INTERESTING.

ok….that was pretty painless, I will one day let you all in on my schooling experience of being an undiagnosed dyslexic/aspie who was only ever any good at the arts. For now I think this is enough.

I WOULD LIKE TO ADD THAT I VALUE THE EDUCATION SYSTEM WE HAVE HERE IN THE U.K. TODAY

However I would like to see more of the arts being used to help nurture the whole essence of our children as individuals. As I feel that my creativity is now something that I NEED more than WANT and I have to try to be childlike to tap into it.

8 thoughts on “NEW Inspiration…….Do Schools Kill Creativity?

  1. will play the video later ,but math and languages are just as important as the arts ,unless you’re planning your life around that one thing.

    • Thank you Eileen for your comment, I agree. I feel they should have equal value. I was not allowed to persue the subjects I was talented in and this has caused big problems for me my whole life. Hopefully, prayerfully my children will be able to grow in their talents and become who God made them to be. Love and Blessings. xxx

  2. You know what? This was great. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m trying to find a thing that went around a couple of years ago. It was a beautiful poem about how the traditional educational system focuses only one shoring up weakness to the exclusion of much else. Sometimes the best way to learn math and language is through an art, like say..MUSIC…

    That’s what has worked best for my girl. ๐Ÿ™‚

    You rock, Lisa.

    • Thank you Laura you’re so lovely.
      I didn’t really understand reading and writing until I was 26. It was only when I allowed myself to obsess on something that I was extremely interested in, and I needed to read to learn about it, that I overcome some of the difficulties I have. While at school not being able to pursue the subjects I was good at actually took away all interest in learning. Which then ment I shut down.
      I think you rock too. x ๐Ÿ˜€

      • That’s why a lot of people homeschool, and more specifically unschool. They’ve figured out that children will learn to do the 3 r’s, and retain it much better if they learn it in a context that suits them, and is about something that is inherently interesting to them.

        I even had an experience like this myself in college. I was studying for a degree in Economics and one of the required courses was Calculus. When I took the course in the pure “abstract” form, I just barely passed the class. But the following semester when I had to use Calculus to understand aspects of Economics (my most beloved perseveration), I had NO problem at all grasping the applications and easily aced the course.

        Not exactly, an “art” but the point is the same. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yep I totally get what you’re saying!
        No I really do….when I get an obsession on I just can’t stop cramming. I pack as much into my brain as I can, I just have to….I can’t sleep if I don’t. Take that interest or obsession and link it with all the other subjects and you get a genius. This is what I did with my *AJ, I took his collections and made them educational, he didn’t realise it but he was learning maths while he obsessed on his POKEMON cards. The board game RISK became Geography and History combined. Kids learn best when they are playing. So do we really too….so whatever we enjoy is our creativity.
        We are all created to be creative…I think I have another poem coming on Thanks Laura. x

  3. We have been forcing standards down teachers throats so that they have no time to really teach critical thinking or arts or anything other than what some government boob thinks should be taught…sorry for the rant….enjoyed your post.

    • I know slp, I know….there are some wonderful teachers out there who would love the time to look at the whole child as an individual. It is such a shame that so many targets need to be met. I can imagine that some teachers go home and cry for their pupils because they feel for them, and feel they can’t meet their needs. It is heartbreaking. Thanks for your comment, I don’t mind your rant you’re a friend. x

Leave a Reply

