My JENGA days.

My JENGA days.

I feel like my life is a tower of Jenga blocks. I restack them every morning, in my quiet thought time with God. Then as the day goes by the game starts, the blocks are pulled out and stacked on top higher and higher.

I need times to chill and straighten up my tower or it starts to wobble.

I know myself what I need to do to straighten up my tower. But unfortunately society has certain unwritten rules so I have to display, “normal behaviour” I then feel the need to retreat.

image from Google

image from Google

Sometimes I am not allowed to retreat and I start to become anxious and then the wobble become more than obvious.

Just like the final stage of a game of Jenga, when you know that this block in your hand is going to cause this tower to collapse.

When you are cautiously pulling it out and you can see it is not going to come without collapsing the whole tower.

Or….. you manage to extract the block and now have to place it on top of the already overloaded tower.

When you can see that this tower could not possibly cope with this extra block.

image from Google

This is when I need to be alone!

**********************************************************************************************************

12 thoughts on “My JENGA days.

  1. I really do like this analogy: using blocks as a metaphor for preparing for your day and how sometimes you feel as though your world falls apart. The great thing about you is that you then start again the next day evaluating why those blocks did fall, replacing them in ways that would make you stronger than before. By the end of this self-reflection you feel at peace and able to start again.

    I love you for it.

    • I can only do this because you give me what I need and the time to reflect. I am so glad that you got yourself this new NOKIA and can comment while on the bus travelling to work, my lovely hubby. X

  2. I think this is one of the best metaphors for this that I’ve seen…as I try to explain this to parents in the future…I shall draw upon your writing to convey the message of how their child feels…brilliant my friend….just brilliant!

  3. Hello, as I said when you commented on my blog, you would read my comments soon on your blog πŸ™‚
    I really, really love this post. I think this is the best and easiest to understand explanation of these kinds of days and I am going to show my oldest, Pinky, who (not yet diagnosed, a few more weeks, but still, it is pretty clear to us) has Asperger Syndrome traits. I am very sure he will love to read this.
    Thank you for all your lovely comments on my blog, I am looking forward to reading the rest of the links you posted.

Leave a Reply

