Do you think I’m a poet?

Do you think I’m a poet?

by Lisa Lock

Do you think I’m a poet, or just a blabbering fool?

It’s amazing how poetry helps focus, I find it a really good tool

For helping me slow down my thinking, and explaining the times that have gone

It changes wrong paths I am walking, and pushing this girl to move on

.

Do you think I’m a poet? It’s funny…. and I will tell why!

I haven’t got a clue about literacy rules, but I give them a bloody good try

In English I have this big problem, dyslexia is what it is called

But because my brain is so abstract, I think I have most people fooled

.

You see…..

At school when they taught the kids English, I was sat in the Special Ed Class

And at break times the kids were not friendly, they made me feel I was the trash

While they were learning metaphors, alliteration and similes

I was sat in a one to one still learning my ABC’s

.

But….

You know there is method in madness, because I have continued learning

Those kids who all pointed and teased me, so “normal” and now so “BORING!”

By embracing my thoughts and uniqueness, a gift I so gratefully receive

Oh….and if you think I’m a poet, please comment it helps me believe.

7 thoughts on “Do you think I’m a poet?

  1. YOU’RE A POET .I’M NOT A BIT INCLINED TO WRITE POETRY AND NEVER WILL BE.SO I CAN LEARN FROM YOU BY READING YOUR’S
    HUGS & BLESSING
    EILEEN

    • THERE ARE A LOT OF KIDS COMING OUT OF SCHOOL AND CAN’T SPELL OR EVEN DO MATH IN A LOT OF CASES .THEREFORE YOU HAVE IT MADE LISA. WHAT’S WRONG WITH THE WAY KIDS ARE TAUGHT NOW A DAYS ?

  2. Pingback: Mental Disorders 101

  3. Pingback: OMGoodness, I added some Audios!!! « Alienhippy's Blog

Leave a Reply

