My Nan

Nan with AJ and CAL

My Nan

by Lisa Lock

I was always welcome

Even when I just turned up

She would cook me bacon

Do a word search

And we’d have a cup of tea

Nan with me

She smelt of hairspray and Oil of Olay

With her face powder and lipstick

She never missed a trick

And even though

 Others found her hard going

I always left knowing

She loved me 

Nan and me

She never said it

But I knew

And as I grew into a women

I was still her special girl

Her pearl

Her first grand-daughter 

Me at 12, Nan, Grandad & Great-Gran

I miss sitting in her chair

Playing with her hairpiece

Making apple pies

I miss her smiling eyes

And her knitting 

Nan and me

I miss her asking

“Egg on one, beans on the other?”

Me and my Brother

Staying over after Bingo

I miss the dresses she would make

And the time that she would take

To show me

What was hard to do

Because she knew

I was special 

My Nan

I miss my Nan

 

6 thoughts on “My Nan

  1. Granny Goodwitch her name was
    there’s magic in what she does
    scrambled eggs with worms (spaghetti noodles)
    she made breakfast on her terms
    sparkly tutu’s to bed
    so twinkling dreams filled our heads
    homemade cookies and other sweets
    those were just a few of her many treats
    kissing boo-boo’s made the owie go away
    creating giggles & laughter were her forte
    her bibbed apron was her granny uniform
    which was wellworn but not careworn
    she engaged our busy little minds
    with arts and crafts bits and pieces
    beads and twine
    in our hearts she lives on
    always kind and ever strong.

    Lisa, I was inspired by your poem which was so sweet weaving a visual portrait of your nan and her love for you. So in your inspiration I wrote a poem of a special lady. She wasn’t my Grandma, she was two of my childhood best friends, who are my friends to this day. But she was the kind of lady who was everybody’s “grandma”! She was such a wonderful lady and so magical in our little girls eyes that we took to calling her Granny Goodwitch which was a cartoon character of the same name that we enjoyed on tv. She was a wonderful lady and lived a full long life til the age of 95. Hope you don’t mind me sharing my poem inspired by YOU! Hugs, Cindy

  2. Nan was very welcoming and as the new man in the family ‘looked after me’ when we visited. You knew that she loved Lisa, AJ and CAL; I could always sense there was a tear in her eye when we left. A fitting poem to a lovely lady.

Leave a Reply

