People like me, I know you’re out there!

People like me, I know you’re out there!

by Alienhippy

The vulnerability of people like me

Sucked into a cult, depressed not my fault

Naive power trip on a magical roundabout

They chewed up my faith and spat me out

.

The sensitivity of people like me

Alone in the wilderness, head in a mess

Scars so deep I turn to agnosticism

Lost inside my spiritually confused prison

.

The reality of people like me

To God I will turn, listen, grow, learn

Each day is a lesson in a classroom of strife

I’m earning my degree in the university of life

.

The spirituality of people like me

Professors of reality, no educational degree

Wisdom given from the Lord above

Taught by the cross and the spirit of love

.

The humility of people like me

Not wanting attention, choosing not to mention

The spirit churning inside my being

Prophetic insight, theologically freeing

.

The insanity of people like me

Not wanting to fit, in this world full of sh*t

Desiring more than materialistic surface conversation

From people obsessed with their own self gratification

.

  • We can trust – in our vulnerability
  • We can see – in our sensitivity
  • We can be grounded – in our reality
  • We hear God – in our spirituality
  • We can accept – in our humility
  • We can imagine more – in our insanity

In this world you will have trouble but take heart I have overcome the world

– John 16:33

One thought on “People like me, I know you’re out there!

  1. This poem is very good. It is quite obvious that you have been on a very emotional and spiritual journey and have resurfaced with a lot of learning & wisdom

Leave a Reply

