Dyspraxia is a Pain by Katherine Jones (age 9)

17 thoughts on “Dyspraxia is a Pain by Katherine Jones (age 9)

  1. What a very expressive and heartfelt poem. There are not many 9 year olds that could express themselves in this way. I know that your Daughter CAL also writes very good poetry. Thank you. It gives others an insight to how it must feel to have dispraxia

    be disparxic

  2. Wow -thanks for posting that amazing insight into Dyspraxia. I learnt a lot of things that I didn’t know.
    That’s what awareness is all about! Good on you!

    • wow this is just amazing
      how did you write that?
      i couldn’t do it so good
      i mean i love to do it but i’m not that good

      • This is a beautiful poem by Katherine Jones. Poetry to me is a way of expressing your own feelings, thoughts and insights. If you write what you feel it doesn’t matter what others think just use it. God Bless and thank you for visiting my blog. x

  3. hi is there somewhere i can get the words to this poem in print. I work in a Young Offenders Institute and support many young men with dyspraxia in their education time. I feel this may help some of them understand that they are not alone.

    • Hi i’m glad my poem has been a help to you and the men in the young offenders institution. Its so important to remember the little things that you can’t do and the big things you can.
      Thanks again
      Katharine Jones

  4. i still want the lyrics..
    still looking for it..
    can’t find it anywere.. sow..
    if someone does find it..
    it would be great..

    • I’m SO VERY sorry, I found them for you and I was sure I emailed them to you.
      I am so forgetful….here they are.
      Love and hugs. xx 🙂

      Dyspraxia is a Pain!

      Dyspraxia is a pain!
      It doesn’t hurt,
      I don’t look different.
      You can’t see it……….
      Until breakfast.
      I can’t tie up my laces, and I always look a mess.
      My shirt is buttoned wrongly –
      I still find it hard to dress.
      I can’t hold my knife and fork yet.
      I spill my drink, my mind is all muddled.
      I know I am clumsy.
      I get flustered and befuddled.
      Dyspraxia is a pain!
      It doesn’t hurt.
      I don’t look different.
      You can’t see it……..
      Until I get into class.
      I can’t copy from the blackboard.
      It’s hard to concentrate.
      The teachers call me lazy.
      Keep me in and get irate.
      They say that I’m untidy –
      They’re very quick to blame me and don’t care to find out why.
      Dyspraxia is a pain!
      It doesn’t hurt.
      It don’t look different.
      You can’t see it ……….
      Until I write.
      I can’t write very neatly
      And I can’t write very small,
      I get my letters backwards –
      I can barely write at all.
      The others say I’m stupid
      And they call me lots of names.
      They say that I’m a baby.
      They won’t let me share their games.
      Dyspraxia is a pain!
      It doesn’t hurt.
      I don’t look different.
      You can’t see it……
      Until it’s art.
      I can’t cut out with scissors,
      I can’t rule nice straight lines.
      I have never coloured neatly.
      I don’t draw good designs.
      The other children mock me.
      They think it’s fun to tease –
      They never want to play with me,
      Like I’ve got some disease.
      Dyspraxia is a pain!
      It doesn’t hurt.
      I don’t look different.
      You can’t see it…..
      Until I do PE.
      I wobble when I balance.
      It’s awkward when I run.
      I can’t climb up a gym rope –
      Sports isn’t any fun.
      I can’t catch a bouncing football.
      I can’t kick one in the net.
      I’m always ‘it’ when we play tag.
      They jeer……. I get upset.
      Dyspraxia is a pain!
      It doesn’t hurt.
      I don’t look different.
      But it really hurts inside.
      I want to be like other children –
      Good at sport and playing games.
      I really want to score a goal.
      I want to be the same;
      I’d love to write so neatly
      And be good at colouring in.
      I want my work up on display
      Not rejected in the bin.
      I know that I am lucky;
      I can walk and talk and play.
      I just do it differently
      And kids prefer the normal way.

      • This is a beautiful insight into the many frustrations our children face every day. My son is 9 and lives with dyspraxia and dyslexia. I have reposted this poem to my blog, as I really wanted to share it.

  5. What a lovely poem. Having visited your site. I am certain my daughter has Dyspraxia, and going to keep persisting to get the help and recognition she needs. What a wonderful and inspiring web site.

    • Sarah, thank you so much for leaving your comment you’ll never know just how much I needed to read your words today. I will keep you and your daughter in my thoughts and prayers. Absolutely she deserves all the help and recognition she needs.
      My daughter has Dyspraxia and Aspergers, she is 11 now and there are still things she finds hard, but we help her to focus on her talents and give her more time with the thing she finds…*CAL’s words for it…
      “some things are complicating.”
      It’s a cross with complicated and frustrating, I like it, it’s a good word.
      Love and hugs. Lisa. xx 🙂

  6. This is amazing and sums up my son who has Dyspraxia and ASD perfectly, Your a very talented young lady!!!

  7. Hi, thanks for all the lovely comments. I wrote this poem 15 years ago and just stumbled accross it on the internet. I struggled with Dyspraxia for many years and have now come to embrace it as part of my life. I have since graduated from university and it has not held me back one bit, in fact it helps me work that little bit harder.
    Thank you again

    • I use your poem all over Ireland for the Dyspraxia Association of Ireland and it really helps everyone get a better understanding of Dyspraxia ………i can now tell all our members how Dyspraxia has not held you back at all and that you have graduated so they can be further inspired by you ………..a million thanks Katharine …harry Dyspraxia Ireland

Leave a Reply

