What is Dying? (Bishop Brent 1862-1929)

What is dying?

by Bishop Brent 1862-1929 (Bishop of The Philippines)

I am standing on the sea shore.

A ship at my side spreads her

white sails in the morning breeze

and starts for the blue ocean.

She is an object of beauty and I

stand and watch her until at last

she fades on the horizon.

Then someone at my side says

“There, she has gone”-

Gone where?

Gone from my sight – that is all.

She is just as large in the mast,

hull and spars as she was

when she left my side…

The diminished size

and total loss of sight

is in me and not in her,

and just at the moment when

someone by my side says

“She is gone,”

Others take up the glad shout

– “There she comes.”

2 thoughts on “What is Dying? (Bishop Brent 1862-1929)

  1. This is a lovely poem and when we are struggling with the loss of someone, it helps to put this in prospective on a Spiritual level.

Leave a Reply

