Naming the Beast

Naming the Beast

by Alienhippy

You say that you love and understand me

So, why do you say I should change?

If you love me, accept all my failings

Stop making me feel I’m deranged

 ~

I came to terms with the fact I’m dyslexic

I’ve learnt all about my syndrome

I’m learning about all the walls I keep hitting

and why I’ve always felt so alone

 ~

But now I can give you a title

To the traits that have always been me

It has caused you one massive problem

Because love doesn’t always want to see

 ~

I’m not broken, I am happy, I don’t need fixing

Stop stressing yourself, it’s not your fault

I am obsessed with finding a new way

Of using my looping mind volt

 ~

Remember when I was a kid

and gymnastics made me feel tall

I was quick, I was brave and I was bendy

I didn’t break every time I took a fall

 ~

I would have done somersaults on concrete

and hung upside down all day long

But then it was given a title

and a club to show what I did wrong

 ~

They had mats for me to fall on

Spring boards and beams and first aid

and even though I was fearless

Those who loved me were very afraid

 ~

I see this again in my family

The title has given the fear

but just because the beast has a name

It will not just simply disappear

 ~

In fact I’m looking for a new club

With people of similar belief

Naming the beast may have caused you fear

But, for me it has given relief

2 thoughts on “Naming the Beast

  1. Knowing that one is not alone nor a lesser person for what they have …is essential for one’s full potential development…it is good to know the name of the beast…for the unknown creates far more fear…thanks for sharing you thoughts and poem.

    • Thank you for your comment. I only found out that I am dyslexic when I was 35, and learning about Asperger’s has given me the confidence to share my experiences. I have many more poems about the loneliness and fears I have experienced. I only have them on scraps of paper at the moment though, I will share them as I type them up. Thank you for dropping by. x

Leave a Reply

