My Shelf

My Shelf 

by Alienhippy

 

For all my 40 years, I’ve done what I’ve been told

I’ve bent myself for others, my personage was sold

I’ve never questioned why, no-one did those things for me

I never took the time to step back, look and see

 ~

But on my 40th Birthday, when I didn’t receive a card

I looked down at the cards I had and the reality was hard

The loving wishes I’d been sent, were from the ones who cared

The ones who call when I am ill and hold my hand when scared

 ~

So I put my life on the top shelf

The one you need a ladder to reach

So I’d only climb and get what’s mine

As my heart begins to teach

 ~

It has been one long journey to deliver me at this station

As I’ve been twisted inside-out and tortured with frustration

I didn’t see, the simplicity, of being me, would set me free.

One thought on “My Shelf

Leave a Reply

