Poem…Misunderstood, Misunderstand

Hello my lovely bloggy friends,

I wrote a poem this morning while working through an emotional overload and the beginning of a shutdown. I thought I’d share it as it’s my way of helping myself to gain self control and it might be helpful to others. I’d also like to say that I am fine, writing poetry is my way of slowing down my thoughts, finding things that trigger. Also reading my Bible is my way of gaining perspective. I have to step back and see things for what they are. I know that the way my brain is wired I can’t always see or understand. I have to look again with a clearer frame of mind. This is my way it works for me.

Love and hugs.

Lisa. xx :)

Misunderstood, misunderstand

by Alienhippy

I lay in bed and tears flowed

At what that person said

It may have been said just in joke

But the pain rushed to my head

 ~

My heart it sank within me

As a million memories returned

The rejection, isolation

And all the lessons I’ve learned

~

How I just can’t fit into groups

No matter how hard I try

I want to be a part of things

But I have to question why

 ~

I come away with head mess

Then want to hide in black

Feeling that I’m made less

Because the social skills I lack

~

So I cry it out with God

Then I don’t hurt anyone

He made me this emotional

So I look towards His Son

~

I sit at the foot of The Cross

And I look into Jesus’ eyes

He was rejected and left all alone

He was innocent and yet despised

~

I know that He gave me the way

That He navigates while on this earth

Cause living inside this Jumble

This world’s ways strip away all worth

~

So, I have to look beyond this hurt

And think of a better place

Where I’m welcomed not excluded

Where I’m accepted and given grace

 

Also this scripture helped me today

1 Peter 1:17-25 (Good News Translation)

17 You call him Father, when you pray to God, who judges all people by the same standard, according to what each one has done; so then, spend the rest of your lives here on earth in reverence for him. 18For you know what was paid to set you free from the worthless manner of life handed down by your ancestors. It was not something that can be destroyed, such as silver or gold;19 it was the costly sacrifice of Christ, who was like a lamb without defect or flaw.20 He had been chosen by God before the creation of the world and was revealed in these last days for your sake.21 Through him you believe in God, who raised him from death and gave him glory; and so your faith and hope are fixed on God.

22 Now that by your obedience to the truth you have purified yourselves and have come to have a sincere love for other believers, love one another earnestly with all your heart.23 For through the living and eternal word of God you have been born again as the children of a parent who is immortal, not mortal.24 As the scripture says,

All human beings are like grass,
and all their glory is like wild flowers.
The grass withers, and the flowers fall,
25 but the word of the Lord remains forever.

21 thoughts on “Poem…Misunderstood, Misunderstand

  1. Lisa, I’m sorry to see you upset but glad that you have found a way to work through it.

    You ARE a part of things, you know; and you fit into a huge group – the blogging community, who see you exactly as you are and love you for it. God works in mysterious ways!

    Some in this community can more easily understand what you are going through; it’s not so easy for me, but you are teaching me.

    You are sweet and lovely and valuable.

  2. Lisa, I feel so sad that you have been misunderstood throughout your life, and have been hurt so many times by words and through being “left out”… BUT I am glad that you have a way of overcoming the misunderstandings… Your poems say SO much in so few words! You are an inspiration.
    Praise God that you have been “wonderfully wired” and are able to express yourself through so many creative ways. Your art work (in various media) is AMAZING! You are so gifted!
    The way you explain yourself is SO helpful. I learn so much every time I read anything that you write!
    Hugs and pass the tissues…. Pippa

    • Thank you Pippa,
      Your comment REALLY helped me.
      I do misunderstand a lot of the time and take things to heart.
      People are all so different and hard to read, it’s easier to just blame myself.
      But I am learning that it’s not always me, sometimes it’s others too.
      I try not to let things bother me but they do. I’m very sensitive and extremely emotional.
      God gets me though and He ALWAYS gets me through.
      Thank you for reading my blog, I love getting your comments.
      Love you loads.
      Lisa. xxx :)

  3. You are an inspiration Lees…..perfectly formed in His image….I’m sad that you were hurt but thrilled that you turned to God and he gave you what people have failed to.
    Xxx

    • Hello my lovely Fi,
      You always make me smile, :) you always say just the right things too.
      I love you my lovely friend and everything about you.
      Lees. xxxx {{{{HUG}}}} X

    • Thank you lovely Bruce,
      You are so very kind, I always look forward to getting your comments.
      You’re a pretty special guy my friend.
      Love and hugs. xx :)

  4. I am sorry too that you went through this but I am happy that you were able to share such a wonderful poem and get through it. :-) My recent post has threads of what you have expressed in your poem, so it was quite special to read today.

    But I must ask, do you feel like pouncing about with me today? Pounce, pounce, pounce…. :-)

    • Hello my pouncing friend,
      Have you been on the play-dough again…pounce, pounce, pounce.
      NARF……You know that poetry gets it out, you do it TOO! ;)
      Love you loads. xxx :)

  5. I’m sorry Lisa. Your poem is beautiful and I can relate to so much of it. You are very wise to turn to the One who will always accept you and understand you perfectly :) Hang in there!

  6. I hope that you are OK now and that your lovely poem has helped to put things in prospective. Love you xxxx

  7. Hi, Lisa. I was just looking through comments on my blog and there were some from a while back that I missed. I just read this post. It is so beautiful the way you share your heart. Thanks. It really is a gift!

  8. Pingback: Where my Faith and my Aspieness STAND holding hands. « Alienhippy's Blog

Leave a Reply

